To add an existing asset to a box:

• Click on Add/Reorder
• Select the asset type you wish to add
• Select the tab for Reuse Existing ... [Link, Widget, Book, Document etc]
• Make sure you choose the correct (preferably the original) asset
• Leave the Copy box unticked
• Select the required position within the box
• Click on Save.

Databases - a special type of Asset

You will notice that you can't create a Database Asset - this is done by the LibGuides team and/or Collection Services. 

Database Assets, as well as being available for use in LibGuiides, also populate our A-Z Databases and associated lists.

To add a database to a LibGuides box:

1. Click on the Add/Reorder button
2. Select Database
3. Enter words from the database name to find it in the A-Z Databases List.
4. Follow the prompts to add the database to your LibGuide.

As with other asset types, you do have the option of adding a database as hyperlinked text. But it's preferable to use the database asset, to ensure that the details are accurate and kept updated. 

If you wish to link to a database that is not already listed as an asset, please contact the LibGuides team.

Videos

The main thing when adding a video as Media/Widget asset is to choose the correct one.

This can be tricky because there are two assets for each video - large and small - and there might be numerous duplicate video assets.

For more on this, see the page on Videos. 

Links

Links can be created and reused as assets or included as hyperlinked text.

If you include a link as hyperlinked text, our current practice is to:

• set the link to open in the same window (target = _self) if it's a CSU webpage 
• set the link to open in a new window (target = _blank) if it's an external wepbage.
• Set the link to display link descriptions to display below.

You can add an image to a LibGuide by re-using an image from your Personal Library or from the Shared Library.

To re-use an image:

1. Go to the relevant box and click on Add > Rich Text/HTML. In the Editing tool, click on the Image icon. This is the "sun and mountains" icon in the second row of icons.
2. In the ensuing Image Properties box, click on Browse Server. This opens the LibGuides Image Manager, with the default of your Personal Folder.
3. Locate the image (it might be in a folder), and click on its image icon (sun and mountains icon) to select it and insert its URL in the Image Properties dialog box.
4. In the Image Properties box, give the image some alt text (if and as appropriate), and set the properties. Note that you can set the width as a % value, rather than worrying about width and height.
5. Click OK to add the image to your box.

For more information on images, and on adding a new image, see the page in this guide on Images.