Skip to main content

Legal Research Skills Guide: Legislative process

Making Legislation

In both the Commonwealth & New South Wales Parliaments, both houses of Parliament are responsible for the making of laws. 

Under the Australian Constitution, Federal Parliament can only make laws on certain matters, these include international and interstate trade; foreign affairs; defence; immigration; taxation; banking; insurance; marriage and divorce; currency and weights and measures; post and telecommunications; and invalid and old age pensions.

The Australian States retain the power over many areas, such as local government, roads, hospitals and schools.

How Parliament makes laws