Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIP202 Research Skills Guide: Finding full-text and downloading a PDF

Finding full-text

Many of the results in CINAHL will be available in full-text, in either PDF or HTML format.

The process of downloading a PDF from an EBSCOhost database can vary according to the browser you are using.

Sometimes, clicking on the PDF link (from either below the brief record, or from within the full record) opens the article within the EBSCOhost interface, or does not open it at all. If this happens, click on the Download PDF link at top left of screen, to open the PDF in a separate window in Adobe Reader:

CINAHL Download PDF screen showing the location of the Download button


Some of your CINAHL results won't have the full-text attached. What do we do here?

We can click on the Find it at CSU link: this activates a search for the full article elsewhere in the Library's online subscriptions.

For example, here's a result that is NOT available in full-text within CINAHL:

CINAHL result showing the Find It [at] CSU button

Clicking on the Find it at CSU link takes us to the Primo Search record with links to databases where this item is held in full-text. We need to click on one of the listed databases (eg Gale Cengage Expanded Academic ASAP), and ultimately we get the full article:

Record for the article in the database Expanded Academic ASAP, showing the link to the full-text

Try It Now

Go to CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Search for the article "Efficacy of intensive versus nonintensive physiotherapy in children with cerebral palsy: a meta-analysis".

Use the Find it at CSU link to locate the full article.