In most essays and assignments – including the HIP101 Assessment item 2 (Essay) - you are expected to locate relevant scholarly journal articles to support your arguments.

You can search for journal articles on a topic in Primo Search, but you can also search directly in a database or package of databases.

A database is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. In the Library, databases can have:

• journal article (and other) citations, where there is no full-text
• journal article (and other) citations, where all records have the full-text attached
• a mixture of the two above (this is the most common)
• other types of records or items - eg. videos, images, or listings of people or companies.

To locate databases, go to A-Z Databases. You can browse by database title/keyword, or by subjects category:

The Allied Health list should have all the databases you might need, including several Recommended databases. 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is an important international database for allied health and nursing. It's in the EBSCOhost platform of databases (see below). For more on using CINAHL, please proceed to the next page.

It helps to know the difference between a database and a database platform

The 4 main database platforms, and examples of databases they contain:

Once you are in one of the database platforms, you can search across a number of databases at the same time. In some cases, the Library provides a package of subject-related databases that are in the same platform. Two examples are:

• EBSCOhost (Health)
• ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases.