Skip to Main Content

ENM109/163 Research Skills Guide

General search tips

These search tips can help you to find more relevant results in Primo Search and many library databases. If these tips don't work in the database you are using, check the database's Help section for specific advice.

Search Operator Example
Use AND to retrieve results that contain both of your search terms. climate AND australia
Use OR to retrieve results that contain any either one of your search terms. climate OR weather

Combine terms with round brackets to create complex searches.

Alternatively, use separate lines of search.

(climate OR weather) AND australia

climate OR weather

[AND] australia
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase "climate change"
Use the asterisk to search for terms with different word endings. australia* = australia, australian, australia's
A question mark can be used to replace a single letter within a word. organi?ation = organisation, organization

 

Advanced search technique - Proximity searching

A proximity search forces a database to find results where one search term appears within a certain number of words of another search term.

The proximity operator varies according to the database. It is placed between the keywords/phrases in the same way as other combining operators. You can usually specify the number of words between the two terms. 

The examples below are from ProQuest; other databases vary. If you want to use proximity searching, you should check the database's Help section.

In ProQuest Natural Science Collection:

If you enter, in the search box: You will get:
pollution N4 environment* Results where the word pollution occurs within 4 words of the word environment, environmental, environmentally
"Great Barrier Reef" NEAR/4 "coral bleaching" Results where the phrase "Great Barrier Reef" occurs within 4 words of "coral bleaching"

Proximity operators in the major database platforms vary; see Database Help: Proximity searching.

Get better search results

Further help with searching

For more help with searching in Primo Search and in journal databases, see:

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.