MEDLINE is recognized as the premier index of biomedical literature. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1950. Medline can be used to find primary EBP research.
The search tips below are for the Medline on the Ovid platform. Ovid provides access to a number of health, medical, and psychology databases, including Ovid EBM Reviews.
PubMed is essentially the free version of MEDLINE. One advantage of using PubMed is that access is free, which means that you will have access after you complete your studies.
If you are interested in the difference between MEDLINE and PubMed, the National Library of Medicine has a fact-sheet.
And for tips on searching in PubMed, please see PubMed Help
Medline defaults to the Advanced Search screen. There is only one line of search, so for more complex searches you will need to Group your search terms (see Search Tips for more information), or run your searches individually and then combine them.
MeSH (medical subject headings), is a controlled vocabulary/thesaurus, created by the US National Library of Medicine, that Medline indexers use to describe article content. Searching Ovid Medline using MeSH terms enables us to create a targeted search.
In the Advanced Search screen, tick the Map Term to Subject Heading box. Enter your topic/concept/idea in the search box and click on Search.
Note: When searching using MeSH terms we search for one concept at a time, individual concepts can then be combined using the Medline Search History function.
Let's use "heart attack" as an example. If you map the term "heart attack" to subject headings, you get a match for Myocardial Infarction, as shown on this screen:
Select Myocardial Infarction, click on Continue to select from a list of subheadings. You can select all the subheadings, or make a selection of 1 or more subheadings which can be combined with AND or OR. In our example we select the subheading /pc - Prevention & Control & click on Continue to search.
Our search for Myocardial Infarction/pc [Prevention & Control] produced 101 results:
Note: Although you may find some links to full text articles, Medline is primarily a database of abstracts. To locate full text when not immediately available click on the Find it at CSU links to check if the full text is available in another of our subscribed databases.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.