It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To read Martindale online select View in Book Reader. Navigate to the required section and select the Tools arrow icon to access print and export to PDF options. Please note there are a limited number of licenses available for this eBook, if you are unable to access it at anytime please try again later.
An up-to-date and authoritative online resource providing information about most of the therapeutic drugs marketed in Australia.
The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) is produced jointly by 3 organisations the Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists (ASCEPT), the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP), and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA). It is a required resource for practising Australian pharmacists.
According to the AMH itself, its philosophy is to use the best available evidence to support prescribing and dispensing recommendations. It has two purposes: to provide readily accessible, concise, up-to-date, and independent drug information: and to provide an educational tool for practitioners and students.
AMH includes information on indications, precautions, dosage, adverse effects, and drug interactions, and covers new drugs, blood products, immunoglobulins, and specialised drugs.
There is a set of Guides which provide general guidance on prescribing, and specific advice about medication use in special populations such as pregnant women. There are also descriptions of general issues such as drug availability in Australia, use of drugs in sport, and the reporting of adverse effects.
The online Handbook is updated in January and July of each year.
Please note that Charles Sturt has only 2 concurrent user licences for this resource.
AusDI, previously known as Catalyst, is an Australian database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images, and Interactions and Safety monographs.
AusDI contains over 80,000 pages of medicines information, covering over 5,000 products including prescription medicines, hospital use, over-the-counter (OTC) products including many complementary medicines, devices, diagnostic agents, and dressings.
You can browse datasets by Product List, Product Summary, Product Information, Independent Drug Monograph, Consumer Medicine Information, Indications, and Therapeutic class.
Search options include Quick Product Search, Advanced Product Search, and Free Text Search, and you can search medicines information by brand, active ingredient, therapeutic class, or indication, and even by dose form, colour, markings, and shape.
AusDI features the new "Mobile Optimised AusDI". which means it has been optimised for iPhone, iPad and Android devices via a web browser. You can access all the medicines information and features via a mobile device, but ....
* Please note: Before using the mobile application you must register for a personal account with AusDI. You need to be connected to Charles Sturt's network in order to register. This would most likely be by way of a desktop computer or via Wi-Fi if you are using a mobile device. Once registration is finalised, the mobile application can be accessed from anywhere with an active internet connection. For more information, see Catalyst Mobile Release Notes.
** Please also note: CSU has only 2 concurrent user licences for AusDI. You can get alternative access to Product Information (PI), and Consumer Medicine Information (CMI) at the FREE online resource, TGA Medicines.
Convenient access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs. 10 users at a time can access only
MIMS Online is the web version of the MIMS prescribing information for pharmaceuticals available in Australia. It contains both abbreviated prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Bi-Monthly (a paper product), and full prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Annual (a paper product). It also contains product images, and consumer medicines information (MIMS CMI).
The database offers access to information on more than 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
MIMS Online has Simple and Advanced Search options, and also allows for browsing of the product information by Brand Name, Generic Name, or Therapeutic Class. There is also a Pill ID module, where you can search for a tablet/capsule image, and a Drug Interactions module, where you can identify drug interactions.
Treatment guidelines, mainly pharmacological guidelines but also including non-pharmacological guidelines, for specific medical conditions. Previously known as eTG: Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines.
These guidelines are produced by Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL), an Australian not-for-profit independent organisation that prepares, publishes and distributes nationally-based prescribing guidelines. The Guidelines are endorsed by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, the National Prescribing Service, the Royal College of Nursing Australia, The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, and other peak bodies.
The guidelines cover all common disorders seen in clinical practice and are a source of independent, evidence-based, practical treatment advice to assist practitioners with point-of-care decision making. According to TGL itself, the guidelines are "are regularly updated, based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australia’s most respected experts, with input from an extensive network of general practitioners, pharmacists and other users".
The Therapeutic Guidelines site also includes: a browsable drug index; information on antibiotic prescribing and on drug use in pregnancy and breastfeeding; patient-information sheets and other useful PDFs; calculators, and a list of tables, boxes, and figures.
Free online resources on medicines, from the Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration. Aimed at health professionals. Includes access to a searchable database of Product Information and Consumer Medicines Information documents.
The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) is part of the Australian Government Department of Health and is responsible for regulating therapeutic goods including medicines, medical devices, blood and blood products.
The Medicines webpage includes several resources on topics such as:
* medicines and TGA classifications
* Product Information (PI) and Consumer Medicine Information (CMI)
* Australian Public Assessment Reports for prescription medicines (AusPARs)
* adverse drug reactions
* orphan drugs
* prescribing medicines in pregnancy.
If you go to Product Information in the left menu there is a Search PI documents link where you can search the Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods for Product Information (PI), and Consumer Medicines Information (CMI) documents. Charles Sturt staff and students also have access to this information in the AusDi database, but as there are only 2 concurrent user licences to AusDI, the TGA website provides an alternative means of access to PI and CMI material.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical medical resource which includes medical and patient information, drug information, and a number of medical calculators. It is continuously updated and is designed as a point-of-care clinical resource.
The main content consists of 11,000 topics across 25 medical specialities, which are written, edited, and reviewed by authors, experts, and peer-reviewers from around the world. Each topic includes a prominent Summary section or Summary and Recommendations section.
Other features include:
• 1500 patient education topics
• 33,000 graphics
• access to Lexi-comp drug monographs
• more than 175 medical calculators
• What’s New and Practice-Changing Updates
• UpToDate Pathways.
UpToDate has an uncluttered user-friendly interface. You can search across the whole resource, or, from the top tab-bar, you can access the Contents, Calculators, Drug interactions, and UpToDate Pathways. You can navigate between topics using hyperlinks in the text.
For information about UpToDate's peer review process, see the page on Editorial Policy.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.