Library Guides: OER Project Management: OER Directory

Finding OER

Use this list to kick-start your search across different types of OER. If you discover great sources we’ve missed, please share them.

Not all sites host only OER - always check the licence on each item before reusing it.

General collections

BCcampus OpenEd
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
JSTOR Open access ebooks
The Mason OER Metafinder
MERLOT
Milne Open Textbooks
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 132 different sources and contains 447,775 records.
OER Commons
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.
OpenStax
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbooks at e-campus Ontario
Pressbooks Directory

Australian collections

Discipline collections

MIT Open Courseware - Teaching & Education
OAPEN Online library and publication platform
OER Commons
Covering arts and humanities, education, information science, journalism & public relations and psychology.
OpenStax
Project MUSE
Public Domain Review - Images
A collection of images in the public domain. Search by time, genre, content etc.

InTech Open - Business
InTech Open - Physical sciences, engineering and technology
MathsCasts
MIT Open Courseware - Business
OER Commons
Covering business, computer science, engineering, mathematics and psychology
StatsCasts

Anatomytool
Browse collections or search by anatomical structure or keyword.
BodyParts 3D
BodyParts3D is licensed under CC Attribution-Share Alike 2.1 Japan.
Bugwood images
Includes forestry, IPM (Integrated pest management), insect and weed images with identification, taxonomy and descriptions. Images made under Creative Commons Licence for use in educational applications.
HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) Collection
A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
InTech Open - Nursing
Michigan Histology and Virtual Microscopy
Digital microscopy resource for the study of cells, tissues and organs from the University of Michigan. BY-NC-SA 4.0
MIT Open Courseware - Health & Medicine
MIT Open Courseware - Science
OER Commons - Anatomy/Physiology
OER Commons - Environmental Science
OER Commons - Health, Medicine & Nursing
Public Health Image Library
Public health images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Multimedia resources

Khan Academy
YouTube
Enter your search terms, then use the filters to search for Creative Common licensed videos.
Vimeo
Wikimedia Commons: Videos

Search within these tools to find Creative Commons licensed resources.

Remember to check the licence to confirm how you can use or reuse the resource.

Age-positive image library
Photos show a more realistic and diverse depiction of ageing – to help challenge stereotypes of older people. The library contains over 3,000 images and is regularly updated.
Creative Commons Search
Every Stock Photo
A search engine for free photos which come from many sources. You can view the attribution license to determine under what conditions each photo can be used.
Flickr
Search on a topic, refine to a particular licence, and check the data attached to the image.
Free Images
An archive of stock photography for use in websites, printed materials and products. Images are provided free of charge for both commercial and personal use under an attribution license.
Freerange stock
Licensed to use with no attribution but attribution is appreciated.
Getty Museum open content
Download, edit and reuse high resolution images of Getty artworks under Creative Commons Zero (CCO).
Google Image Search
Enter the search terms and select the usage rights.
Gratisography
Photographic images available on a creative commons zero license.
NASA Image Galleries
The Noun Project
As well as icons, the Noun Project now has Creative Commons licensed images. You can download the basic version of the image for free - Noncommercial use allowed, social media quality, no crop/edit allowed, must attribute artist. Registration required.
Openclipart
Clip art and icons free to download and use for any purpose (public domain), including commercial.
Open Photo
The Open Photo Project is a photo sharing platform. Contributors have offered their images free of charge under terms of Creative Commons licensing.
Openverse
Find images, video and audio that you can use and remix across several open archives.
Pexels
Free stock photos. Many of the images state "No attribution required".
Public Domain Image Archive
A curated collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright historical images, free for all to explore and reuse.
Pxhere
On Pxhere you may find and share images free of copyright. All pictures are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain.
Unsplash
Free high-resolution photos. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.
Vexels
Many graphics and icons free to use with attribution. Not for commercial use.
Wellcome Images
Includes biomedical, healthcare, and social history images. Images are available under one of two Creative Commons licences.
Wikimedia Commons: Images

Acknowledgement

Many of the items on this page were sourced from The University of Queensland's Open Educational Resources guide.