Library Guides: MID441 Research Skills Guide: Grey literature for health

Clinical practice guidelines

Australian

Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines (NHMRC) To be decommissioned in late 2021. No new guidelines being added.
Department of Health and Aged Care - Pregnancy Guidelines Publications on guidelines and pregnancy.
NSW Health - Policy directives, guidelines and information bulletins Search for keywords and then filter for guidelines by clicking the orange GL button next to the results. Be sure to check if the guideline has been superceded or is still in use.
Queensland Health Clinical Guidelines Includes guidelines and consumer information
Series of National Guidelines (SoNGs) Communicable diseases guidelines from the Australian Department of Health, "their purpose is to provide nationally consistent advice and guidance to public health units in responding to a notifiable disease event ... advice on best practice based upon the best available evidence at the time of completion".
The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) Includes information for both health professionals and consumers on the latest regulatory advice, recalls, and safety information about pharmaceutical products in Australia.
Australian Resuscitation Council Guidelines Guidelines for first aid, CPR, adult and paediatric life support.
Cancer Council Clinical Guidelines Guidelines developed by Cancer Council Austral and the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia. See also the dropdown lists at the top of the page.
Drug Information Directory (Alcohol and Drug Foundation) Links to reviewed articles, reports and guidelines on aspects of alcohol and drug dependency
Pharmaceutical Society of Australia - Resource Hub Knowledge base of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. A "hub for a variety of practice support tools, professional standards, guidelines, guidance documents and other resources".
Royal Australian College of GPs (RACGP) Guidelines Guidelines by topic - Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander health, Aged care, Chronic disease, Mental health and Preventive health.
JBI COnNECT+ You will need your Charles Sturt login to access this database from the Joanna Briggs Institute in South Australia. Search using "Evidence Based Best Recommended Practice" in Select publication(s) dropdown filter.

International

Guideline Central Replaces the National Guideline Clearinghouse as a free database of guideline summaries from medical associations and government organisations around the world.
Guidelines International Network (GIN) Links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development. Includes a number of Australian guidelines.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Guidelines and pathways from the UK. Comprehensive, searchable and browsable. Includes clear indications about recent updates and in-development guidelines.
WHO Guideline Summaries A subset of World Health Organization clinical practice guidelines from Guideline Central.

Policy & reports

Australian

Analysis & Policy Observatory (Health section) Search or browse the APO for open access public policy research and resources on all health topics.
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) The Commission's purpose is to contribute to better health outcomes and experiences for all patients and consumers, and improved value and sustainability in the health system by leading and coordinating national improvements in the safety and quality of health care. Four priority areas: - Safe delivery of health care - Partnering with consumers - Partnering with healthcare professionals - Quality, value and outcomes.
Australian Department of Health Searchable resources on all health topics from the Australian Department of Health.
Australian Digital Health Agency Aims to improve the health of all Australians, the help of digital innovation and connection.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet "Helping to close the gap by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health". Based at Edith Cowan University.
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) Statutory authority for the Australian Government, developing food standards for Australian and New Zealand. Includes information for both consumers and food businesses and professionals.
National Medicines Policy - Australian Government Department of Health Aims to bring about better health outcomes for all Australians, focusing especially on people’s access to, and wise use of, medicines.
National Rural Health Alliance Comprises 43 national organisations across rural and remote Australia, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health organisations, health professional organisations, health service providers, health educators and students. Publications include fact sheets, infographics, documents and the Australian Journal of Rural Health.
NSW Health Publications Includes reports, guidelines and policy directives.
Primary Health Care Research and Information Service (PHCRIS) A national primary health care organisation based at Flinders University. Fosters the exchange of information and knowledge about Australian primary health care research, evaluation and development.

International

International Healthcare System Profiles - Commonwealth Fund Profiles of the health systems of 20 different countries from 2020.
WHO: World Health Organization Fact sheets, publications and toolkits on a range of health topics.
The World Bank - Health Information about the World Bank's commitment to universal health coverage and international affordable health services. Includes data, statistics and research papers.

Indigenous health

Aboriginal Health and Medical Research Council of NSW Peak body for Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services across NSW. Resources include culturally appropriate documents, toolkits and more on topics such as COVID vaccines, Alcohol, Bushfire safety, Ear health. etc.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet "Helping to close the gap by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health". Based at Edith Cowan University.
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) An Australian Government statutory authority which focusses on the history, cultures and heritage of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia.
GEN: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people using aged care From the Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW), these pages give national statistics on aged care in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population.
Indigenous Australians - AIHW AIHW information and statistics about the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) The national leadership body for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health in Australia, representing the 143 ACCHOs across Australia. Includes a number of health reports and documents.

Clinical trials

Help and information on clinical trials

Finding clinical trials, research registers and research results

Australian

Australian Clinical Trials (NHMRC) AustralianClinicalTrials.gov.au is a joint initiative between the National Health and Medical Research Council and the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science to provide information and resources to consumers, health care providers, researchers and industry about clinical trials.
Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR) A public registry of clinical trials held at the NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre at the University of Sydney. It includes interventional and observational studies from Australia, NZ and elsewhere.

International

ClinicalTrials.gov From the US National Library of Medicine, this is a database of international clinical studies.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) "A highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials". Most records are taken from PubMed and Embase databases, but some are from CINAHL and ClinicalTrials.gov.
EU Clinical Trials Register Protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA).
ISCTRN Registry A clinical trial registry that "accepts planned, ongoing or completed studies of any design." Records include results summaries, protocols, published results links and data sharing plans.
Open Trials An open access project designed to provide all the data and information about every clinical research trial in the world. It includes registry entries, links to journal papers, regulatory documents, consent forms, protocols and more.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Searchable database of international clinical trials.

Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)

The most recent census information and data on various aspects of health in Australia.

Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW)

Australian Government body for health data and reports on Australia's health and welfare. Includes alternate biannual publications of Australia's Health and Australia's Welfare.

AIHW - Data on Request Instructions on how researchers and the community can request data not publicly available.
AIHW - Metadata Online Registry (METEOR) Australia's repository for national metadata standards for health, housing and community services.
GEN: data and information about aged care services in Australia
MyHospitals Now hosted on AIHW, reports about hospitals in Australia. A link to Direct data access is provided.

Other Australian health statistics

Australian Government Department of Health Resources Statistics on General Practice, Medicare, Hospitals, and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Australian Institute of Family Studies An Australian Government site including "facts and figures" on aspects of Australian families, many with health implications, such as wellbeing, older people and births.
NSW Health - Data Open data on NSW health topics such as Ambulance Performance, Cancer, Child Health, Chronic Disease, Deaths, Elective Surgery, Emergency Departments, Healthy Lifestyles and Infectious Diseases.
Social Health Atlases -- Public Health Information Development Unit (PHIDU) Torrens University hub of Public Health data, including topic atlases, graphs and maps, comparing regions and socioeconomic groups across Australia.

International health statistics

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Data and statistics by topic, mostly only from the USA.
Department of Health & Social Care, UK Health statistics from the United Kingdom.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data (WHO) "A world of health data" - search by indicator or country. Includes a large collection of health maps.
MedlinePlus Health Statistics, US From the US National Library of Medicine. Data from the US.
National Center for Health Statistics, US Hosted by CDC, health statistics from the USA.
New Zealand Ministry of Health Data and Statistics Excellent site from the Ministry of Health in New Zealand.
Statistics by Country World Health Organisation Institutional Repository for Information Sharing
Health Statistics - Canada Data, statistics, reports and infographics on Canadian health.
Unicef ChildInfo datahub Datasets, publications, guidance and visualisations on various topics of international child health.
United Nations - Demographic & Social Statistics Broader than health statistics, but useful for sociological issues related to population and society internationally.
World Bank Open Data "Free and open access to global development data". Filter by the Health indicator for information about mortality rates, health workforces, life expectancy and more.

Library

MID441 Research Skills Guide: Grey literature for health

General sources of grey literature in health

Clinical practice guidelines

Policy & reports

Indigenous health

Further reading

Clinical trials

Statistics