Library Guides: MID441 Research Skills Guide: Other databases for midwifery

Other useful databases

Here's a selection of other databases that may be helpful in midwifery. All of these are also on the Ovid platform, so will start to look familiar to you!

Emcare
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.

Subjects covered include:

* Nursing
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
MEDLINE ALL (includes MeSH headings) [1946 to Present]
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is very similar to the free and publicly available PubMed.
JBI EBP Database
Previously known as JBI COnNECT+ on Ovid, this is the main product of the Joanna Briggs Institute, offering resources in evidence-based healthcare, and available on the Ovid platform.
This database of evidence-based resources and tools for clinical decision-making and best practice in nursing and allied health is organised in a series of subject area "nodes". You can use these to limit a search:

• aged care
• burns care
• cancer care
• cardiovascular care
• chronic disease
• diagnostic imaging
• emergency and trauma
• general medicine
• health management and assessment
• infection control
• mental health
• midwifery care
• paediatrics
• rehabilitation
• renal care
• surgical services
• tropical and infectious disease
• wound healing and management.

You can also limit a search by type of publication:
• best practice information sheets
• evidence summaries
• recommended practices
• systematic review protocols
• systematic reviews
• editorial
• letters to the editor
• methodology.

Charles Sturt users also have access to two of JBI's EBP tools, via the Ovid platform:
• SUMARI - a tool for developing and managing a systematic review. Available to Charles Sturt users as JBI Sumari on Ovid
• PACES – a tool for conducting an audit in a healthcare setting.

Access to these tools depends on having, or creating, a JBI Account. For more information, go to Ovid’s help page on JBI Tool Login Options. You can access the tools from EBP Tools tab in the main tab bar in any Ovid database.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including thousands of full-text journals) and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.

Coverage is from 1986 - present.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.

Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database.

If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.