Interact2 is an integrated Online Learning Environment at Charles Sturt University that hosts teaching material developed by the University. Embedded links provide access to further readings and resources in University databases, eReserve or on the web.
Embedding links in Interact2 can now be managed with Leganto - a subject readings creation, management and evaluation tool supported by the Library. To read about the benefits of using Leganto for your subject readings, instruction on how to construct your Leganto reading list, and how to seek assistance from Library staff, navigate to our comprehensive Leganto guide.
Using images – scanned from a textbook or copied from a legitimate website can be accessed from Interact2 by uploading the file to the DOMS Copyright PowerPoint Collection and using a link. The section 113P Copyright notice must be displayed at the beginning of the slideshow and reference the source of the image. Instructions for uploading content to the DOMS Copyright Image and PowerPoint Collection and inserting DOMS content to Interact2 is available here. For further information regarding the DOMS Copyright Collection, navigate to our PowerPoint Presentations advice.
Using text – quotes from different sources can be included in PowerPoint presentations, sources must be referenced.
Provided by publishers – may be uploaded to Interact2, unless clearly stated otherwise, use will rely on express or implied permission. If publisher resources are available online ensure you understand the terms of use and provide a link where possible. Generally publishers do not allow adaptation or changes to their resources.
Charles Sturt University purchases access to eBook collections and Journal Databases. eBooks must be used in accordance with their licence which generally allows Academic Staff to provide students with links either to the book or individual chapter. eBook and electronic journal links can be embedded in Interact2 by creating a Leganto list, or by creating links to resources.
Access to legitimate books and journal articles published on the internet can be provided with embedded links within Leganto.
Material that is not available electronically may be digitised and communicated online through the Charles Sturt University eReserve service. Links can then be embedded in Interact2 within your subject Leganto list, or by creating links to Resources.
Note: None of this material should be uploaded to Interact2 - this includes PDFs.
Material must not be stored in Cloud Storage Services (e.g. Amazon or Padlet).
YouTube – Embed links to legitimate YouTube clips
TV & Radio broadcasts – Provide links to broadcast material on the broadcasters website or programs recorded in TVNews and EduTV databases.
Commercial DVDs – Can be shown in class, Charles Sturt University does not hold a licence to copy or communicate Commerical DVDs online.
Music – Charles Sturt University holds a licence with APRA, ARIA, PPCA & AMCOS that allows music to be used for teaching provided it is copied or downloaded from legitimate sources. If communicated online it can only be streamed and access limited to Charles Sturt University students.
When recording lectures academic staff may include:
It is unlikely that other material can be copied as part of a recorded lecture.
Material may only be uploaded to Interact2 under the following conditions although the preference is to provide links where possible:
Send an email to Charles Sturt University Copyright
Copyrighted material should not be posted to social networking sites such as forum, blog, wiki, YouTube because this is likely to infringe copyright.
Academic staff and students can post links to legitimate material available on the web as well as citations.
Students own copyright in their own original work. To share student assignments on Interact2, permission should be obtained in writing. Forward a copy to Charles Sturt University Copyright.
There are no provisions in the Act for copying or communicating computer software. To provide software to students either purchase a licence or seek permission.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
