Library Guides: Master of Health Management and Leadership: Journal Databases

Why Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
Help you locate peer reviewed articles
Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Have many options for refining results
Link between themselves, so that an abstract found in one database can help you find the full text in another database - if it is held by CSU Library

The MEDLINE, CINAHL, Scopus & PsycInfo databases explored on the next few pages are just some of many databases the CSU Library subscribes to.
Find other relevant databases under Medical Sciences & Dentistry on the A-Z Databases page

Health Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and Pre-CINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.

The database is updated weekly.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
EBSCOhost (Health) This link opens in a new window
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
MEDLINE (includes MeSH headings) [1996 - Present] This link opens in a new window
This major international health and medical database is available from Ovid in various date packages. The version here includes material from 1996 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It covers health and medicine,allied health, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1950 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is also available free on the Internet as PubMed.
ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
A package of ProQuest databases all with health-and-medicine-related material. You can also search these databases individually or in any combination. Includes MEDLINE (1946 - current) and Nursing and Allied Health Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 13 databases with health/medicine-related material. Some of these databases are the health-and-medicine subset of a larger database.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Consumer Health Database
* Health & Medical Collection
* Healthcare Administration Database
* MEDLINE (1946 - current)
* Nursing & Allied Health Database
* Psychology Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
* Public Health Database
* TOXLINE - does not include full-text material.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
PsycINFO [1806 to Present] This link opens in a new window
A database of journal and other citations with some full-text available. Covers the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association and available in the Ovid platform.
The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Most of the journals in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.

It is primarily an index, but does include some full-text links to items in the Journals@Ovid database.

For information on things like numbers of records and languages/countries represented, see the APA's PsycINFO Factsheet.

This is one of many databases available in the Ovid platform. Once in the Ovid interface, you can change to another database by clicking on the Change link in the main search panel. All Ovid databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Ovid provides PsycINFO in a number of date-range packages, and also provides PsycARTICLES Full Text , PsycBOOKS, and PsycTESTS.
Implementation Science Resource Directory This link opens in a new window
Developed by the Melbourne Academic Centre for Health (MACH), this is a free online directory of implementation science tools and resources for students, clinicians, and researchers.
The aim of this curated directory is to support health implementation efforts.

Resources are grouped into six categories:
• Planning tools and templates
• Theories, models and frameworks
• Step-by-step guides to implementation research and practice
• Resource hubs and key organisations
• Implementation science and related journals
• MACH webinars.

There are icons to indicate: Beginner [level]; Guide; Video available; and Academic papers available.

The MACH is a joint venture between healthcare providers, medical research institutes and universities in Melbourne, Australia. Its stated purpose is to “facilitate collaboration between academia and healthcare to accelerate the translation of innovative research into clinical care and better patient outcomes”.

Management Databases

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.

Australian Database

Informit Online This link opens in a new window
Informit Online is a platform of mainly Australian databases covering a wide range of subjects, including Business, Science, Health, Social sciences, Computing, Education, and Religion. It has recently undergone a major change to its interface.
Searching here is across the 12 full-text databases to which Charles Sturt subscribes (12 of the 14 Informit full-text databases). You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. You can then choose from a list of full-text databases or from a list of indexes. Many of the indexes do not contain current material (archives only). In the list of full-text databases, you can choose the option of Select databases I have access to (Charles Sturt subscribes to 12 of the 14).

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

The Charles Sturt list of databases include many links to individual subject-specific Informit databases.

Journal articles and library databases

Want to learn more about journal databases?

The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching.
We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases.

Saving searches and creating alerts

Most databases provide the option to save your searches and set up alerts to help you keep up to date with the latest research. To do this you will need to create an account within a database which is separate from your Charles Sturt University login.

A search alert will be sent to you after you have saved a database search that you run periodically.
A table of contents (ToC) alert will allow you to receive the table of contents lists for selected recent journal issues.

To find out how to set this up within different databases see the Library's Keep up to date with the literature.