Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EER504 Research Skills Guide: JOURNAL DATABASES

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Education Studies Database List will be particularly useful for your study.

Have a look at the Database Help Guide for tips on how to search a particular database.

AN EBSCO SEARCH EXAMPLE

Here is an example on a search in EBSCOhost Education:

  • Search Row 1: educat* OR school
  • [AND] Search Row 2: issue* OR problem*
  • [AND] Search Row 3: profession*

In this search I have used:

  • AND to narrow the results
  • OR to include synonyms
  • An asterisk* at the end of the word to allow all endings

Can you try a search in EBSCOhost Education where you find three articles useful for your assignment?

Try to:

  • limit to the last five years
  • change the term profession* to an area you are interested in; for example: technolog* or cultur*

Write down the details of articles. You will need these details later in this tutorial.

Searching in a database

Citation searching