Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EER504 Research Skills Guide: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

The CSU Guide to Writing Your First Assignment (opens as pdf) describes an annotated bibliography as follows:

Annotate means to ‘make a note’, and biblio refers to ‘book’. Simply stated, an annotated bibliography is a list of sources or citations with a brief evaluative summary (annotation) about each source. Its purpose is to describe and evaluate a full text in a way that provides sufficient information for the reader to make an informed decision about whether they are likely to benefit from reading the full text (p.7).

WHERE CAN I FIND MORE INFORMATION?

A quick search in Google will reveal a number of useful resources about how to write an annotated bibliography. Keep an eye out for resources by educational institutions, particularly those ending in edu.au.

Here are some resources you may find useful:

  • Annotated Bibliography by the University of New South Wales. Describes the purpose of an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into many smaller parts; includes focus questions; and offers an example annotation.
  • Writing an Annotated Bibliography by Queensland University of Technology. Discusses why you might write an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into three sections; and includes a revision checklist.

Academic writing support

Charles Sturt University also has other services which can help you to get the best possible results for your work:

  • Turnitin Software - A Turnitin account allows you to check your own writing for inadvertent plagiarism or quotation errors.  Detect and fix problems before submission. Some assessments will require you to submit your work to Turnitin before final submission! 
  • Access support guides and advice to help you understand and prepare for your assignments in the Learning Skills section of the Student Portal.
  • The Study Success Forum is an ideal place to post those vexing questions about assignment writing techniques. Find it in Interact2 > Study Success > Discussion.
  • Why not attend an Academic Skills workshop online to enhance or refresh your academic writing skills.
  • Make an appointment with an Academic Skills adviser for personal help seven days a week.

 

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.