Introduction to Nursing and Allied Health Database
Nursing and Allied Health Database is a ProQuest database of journals (including nearly 900 in full-text), articles, reference book chapters, training videos, multicultural reports, and study paths, covering nursing and allied health.
ProQuest is a database platform/vendor that is similar to EBSCOhost. It has a strong collection of health-related databases. For help with searching multiple databases in ProQuest at the same time, please see Searching in more than one database in ProQuest at right.
Searching in Nursing and Allied Health Database
When you access this database should get the Advanced Search screen. There are 2 lines of search but you can add extra lines:
ProQuest databases default to a keyword search. You don't need to put the AND operator between multiple search terms. If you want to search for a phrase, you should enclose it in double quotation marks.
By default, you will be searching in Anywhere except full text - ALL. This means that your search will be across all fields of the bibliographic record, but NOT in the full text (if there is any).
On the Advanced Search screen, there are range of limiters, which you can apply at the time of searching. You can also refine the results of a search.
You can look up, and search by, MeSH terms, as well as by other subject headings, but you can't "map to" or "match" a MeSH term.
You can do a proximity search: the proximity operator is NEAR/n, where n is the number you specify. Eg. "speech pathology" NEAR/4 australia*
Many articles will be available in full-text. For articles that aren't available in full-text, click on the Find a Copy link to search for the article in other CSU databases.
You can do as much searching as you like, and return to the results later. To see previous searches, click on the clock (Recent Searches) icon at the top right of screen.
If you wish to permanently save articles and searches, or set up search alerts, you need a My Research account in ProQuest. Here's how to set it up:
Click on the head-and-shoulders (My Research) icon at top right of screen
Click on Sign into My Research
Click on Create a My Research account
Follow the prompts and instructions to set up your My Research account.
For more help with using ProQuest, please contact the Library or use the Ask a Librarian forum if there is one for your subject.
Searching in a ProQuest Database
This short video (3:54) demonstrates searching in general databases searching but the example is in a ProQuest database:
Searching in More Than One Database in ProQuest
If you have accessed Nursing & Allied Health Database and you wish to search more extensively within the ProQuest platform, you can search across multiple health-related databases at the same time.
You can change to searching any combination of ProQuest databases by clicking on the hamburger menu > Change databases, but you can also go to:
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.