A DATABASE is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. In the Library this includes databases which have:

• journal article (and other) citations, where there is no full-text;
• journal article (and other) citations, where all records have the full-text attached;
• a mixture of the first two above (this is the most common);
• other types of records, eg. videos, images, or listings of people or companies.

A DATABASE PLATFORM is a company which provides access to a number of databases, via a search interface unique to that company, where the databases can be searched/browsed individually or together.

The 4 main database platforms, and examples of databases they contain

It is important to realise that, once you are in one of the database platforms, you can search across a number of databases at the same time. In some cases, the Library provides a package of subject-related databases that are in the same platform. Two examples of this are:

• EBSCOhost (Health)
• ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases.

How do you change databases or choose other databases within the main platforms?

EBSCOhost:

• At the search screen, click on Choose Databases (link is above the search box(es))
• At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
• Click on OK.

ProQuest:

• At the search screen, click on the hamburger menu at top left
• At the menu of databases, click on Change databases
• Locate the database(s) you require in the hierarchy of databases (this can be a bit tricky)
• Tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
• Click on Use selected databases.

Ovid:

• In the search panel, click on the link to Change, below the tabs for search modes
• At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
• Click on OK.

Most library databases comprise journals and articles, and similar material.

Usually, if an article has full-text available, there will be a link somewhere close to the record.

IF THERE IS NO FULL-TEXT LINK, you can click on the link to search for the full article via Primo Search:

If you are having trouble getting the full-text of an item, please contact the Library.