Instructing students on how to request and loan items using Primo Search, including the use of self-check machines for borrowing and returning materials.
Demonstrating request procedures in Primo Search.
Resolving issues related to requests and recalls in Alma, including initiating claims returned and managing book replacement fee processes.
Collections
The Library provides access to a wide range of resources for use both online and within library spaces. These include print and electronic books, journals, databases, early childhood education kits, anatomy models, laptops, projectors and screens, silent disco kits and more.
The Library also facilitates access to the University’s archival and special collections and offers guidance in their use.
Checking the catalogue for alternative or existing resources.
Verifying availability of newer editions or titles via Rialto.
Collaborating with academic staff to support informed collection development decisions.
Involving librarians in the selection and deselection of materials to ensure alignment with academic priorities.
Copyright and licensing
Directing users to relevant copyright guides for initial assistance.
Explaining subscription eBook access, including usage allowances and limitations.
Explaining copyright and Creative Commons licences, including attribution requirements.
Clarifying the permitted use of public domain, free-to-read and openly licensed materials. Complex enquiries are referred to the Copyright & Open Content Librarian.
Delivering presentations and creating training resources on copyright and licensing topics.
Advising on how to seek permission for the use of third-party copyright material.
Supporting the use and licensing of Creative Commons materials, including guidance for open educational resources used in study and teaching.
Coordinating and advising on the Statutory Education Licence and the Universities Music Licence in collaboration with Legal Services.
Referring complex legal matters to Legal Services.
Referring enquiries about referencing and citation styles to the Academic Skills Team.
Document delivery
Online Charles Sturt students can request home delivery of physical items via Australia Post eParcel, with tracking and free return postage provided.
Overseas students may request international delivery of selected physical items; return postage is not included.
Staff and students based at the Sydney and Melbourne campuss can request items from the Charles Sturt main collection.
Items can be returned to any Charles Sturt main campus or St Mark’s campus library using the supplied return label.
Charles Sturt off-campus staff can also request home delivery of physical items; return postage is not included.
Digitisation requests are available. Students and staff can request scans of book chapters, tables of contents or journal articles from print resources to be delivered via email.
Where appropriate, the Regional Archives can provide digitisation-on-demand services for archival materials not subject to access restrictions.
EndNote
Demonstrating how to access the Library guide and EndNote modules for independent navigation of reference management tools.
Guiding users through downloading EndNote and adding records to their libraries.
Troubleshooting common issues and providing basic training support.
Offering specialised training for advanced functions, such as managing EndNote output styles and merging chapters.
Supporting users to effectively manage their bibliographies and references.
eReserve and reserve
Assisting students in locating their required readings and guiding academic staff to the eReserve request form.
Demonstrating how to search for eReserve items and managing print reserve inquiries from academics.
Providing specialised support for navigating Leganto, resolving reserve-related issues, and addressing both specific and general copyright concerns related to eReserve.
Collaborating with the Collections team to provide comprehensive assistance on copyright questions.
Finding known items
Directing users to Primo Search as the starting point for their research.
Teaching users how to search for specific items in Primo Search and journal databases.
Assisting with locating materials beyond the Library’s collection using tools such as Trove, WorldCat and others.
Supporting access to resources outside our holdings to meet user needs.
Regional Archives staff provide assistance in finding collections and locating digitised item-level content via the online searchable AtoM (Access to Memory) collection management system.
Generative AI
Develop detailed guides, video tutorials, and FAQs on Generative AI.
Conduct workshops and live demonstrations on the use of Generative AI in academic contexts.
Provide practical training and collaborate with faculty to create discipline-specific resources.
Offer consultations to address complex challenges related to Generative AI.
Support the integration of AI tools into research methods and teaching practices.
Engage in projects that innovate academic applications of Generative AI.
Partner with institutional offices to ensure ethical and regulatory compliance.
Promote guidelines for the ethical use of AI and foster AI literacy across services.
Build and nurture a university-wide community of Generative AI users.
Encourage knowledge sharing through events, forums, and collaborative initiatives.
Continuously evaluate and improve services based on user feedback and advancements in AI technology.
IT wireless connectivity
Providing information about available service connections and Wi-Fi network names.
Offering step-by-step instructions to help users establish a connection.
Referring users to the Division of Information Technology (DIT) for advanced technical support and troubleshooting.
Laptop loans
Available for students to borrow for 7 days.
Library induction
Showcasing available resources, including self-help videos and tutorials.
Directing staff and students to register for upcoming training sessions.
Providing quick guides to help users navigate the Library’s website effectively.
Regularly updating online modules and content to ensure information is current and accessible.
Offering customised library inductions, training sessions, or tours to enhance the user experience.
Library membership
Directing Alumni to the website for library membership registration.
Assisting community members and ULANZ borrowers with sign-up and ID verification.
Explaining library membership benefits and privileges.
Providing dedicated support for complex inquiries from community borrowers.
Postage
Providing reply-paid labels for cost-free item returns to students, funded by SSAF.
Using tracking labels to monitor parcel locations and keep clients informed.
Referencing enquiries
Providing links to referencing guides and resources to support user citation needs.
Referring users internally for specialised advice on the Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC4).
Directing users to the Academic Skills Team for assistance with all other referencing styles and queries.
School / Centre liasion
Faculty Librarians act as the primary library contact for their respective schools.
Participate in school boards, research groups and teaching committees.
Distribute relevant information via school email lists.
Collaborate with faculty committees on teaching, course development, student retention and first-year strategies to support shared objectives.
Staff induction
Offering tailored inductions, training sessions, or tours of library spaces to ensure comprehensive understanding and effective use of library resources and facilities.
Spaces
Accessible library spaces for all staff and students.
Extensive collections, including the Charles Sturt University Regional Archives and Art Collection.
PCs and print/copy/scan facilities available for student use.
Comfortable furniture for relaxation and study.
Kitchenettes offering free food for students, funded by SSAF.
Dedicated parents’ rooms.
Quiet areas for individual study and silent zones.
Collaborative spaces for group work and discussion.
Classrooms equipped with modern teaching aids.
Group study rooms available for booking through the room reservation system.
Wellbeing activities and entertainment options, including eSports, table tennis, foosball, giant games and sporting equipment.
24-hour library access to support flexible study schedules.
Subject site / Leganto
Showing students how to locate subject sites through the Student Portal.
Guiding students to efficiently access course readings via Leganto lists.
Assisting academic staff with setting up and managing Leganto reading lists.
Collaborating with Collection Services to troubleshoot complex Leganto issues.
Technical troubleshooting
Suggesting basic troubleshooting steps for common access problems.
Offering alternative methods to access readings when issues arise.
Assisting with login and authentication issues for online library resources, including resolving broken links.
Escalating complex technical problems to the Division of Information Technology (DIT) for expert support.
Topic searching
Providing links to Library Resource Guides, Primo Search and journal databases for easy access.
Demonstrating basic search techniques in Primo Search, journal databases, and Google Scholar.
Teaching advanced search strategies, including the use of MeSH terms in journal databases.
Offering specialised support for complex search queries, systematic reviews and developing comprehensive search strategies.
Archivists and curators available to assist users in accessing and using special collections.
Website
Assistive Technologies support.
Access to Charles Sturt Research Outputs (CRO), including theses and dissertations.
Curated resources and guides tailored to user needs.
Help and support available via chat.
Information and services for teaching and research staff.
Interlibrary Loan and Digitisation Services.
Library catalogue access.
Library contact details and general information.
Room booking services.
Special Collections, Regional Archives, and the University Art Collection.
Specialised databases providing access to academic and industry-specific resources, audiovisual materials, and news.
Training videos, workshops, and learning modules.
Online forms for new resource requests, ISBN requests, and more.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
