Library Guides: Ornithology Research Skills Guide: Useful resources

Accessing HANZAB - Handbook of Australian, New Zealand & Antarctic Birds

Compiled by scientists at BirdLife Australia, the HANDBOOK OF AUSTRALIAN, NEW ZEALAND AND ANTARCTIC BIRDS (HANZAB) documents the ecology, behaviour and morphology of each species ever recorded in our region – even extinct species, introduced birds and rare visitors to our offshore islands are dealt with in detail.

While access is free, a login is required via Birdlife Australia.

Link to access HANZAB
Log in (from top menu bar)
Create a New Account
Enter your name, email and (create) password
Once logged in, use the top menu bar to access 'Contents" or use the 'search HANZAB' option.

Websites

Birdlife Australia
Birdlife Australia is an organisation dedicated to the identification and protection of Australian birds. Also accessible from the website is the 'State of Australia's birds' reports.
Birds in Backyards
An Australian research and conservation program, particularly focusing on birds living where people live.
Birdata
Contains BirdLife data, including bird distribution maps, bird lists, and nest record schemes.
Australian Museum - Birds Collection
The Australian Museum has the largest ornithological collections in the Southern Hemisphere. The site includes bird facts sheets, information on modern birds and an option to ask a expert to identify a species.
eBird
Global tools for birders, critical data for science and conservation. Create an account in eBird, to access Birds of the World by the Cornell Lab.
Avibase - The world bird database
An extensive database information system about all birds of the world.
NSW BioNet
A Government portal for finding information about NSW flora and fauna.
Australian Faunal Directory
The Directory is a catalogue of taxonomic and biological information on all animal species known to Australia.
Graeme Chapman
Bird photos and bird calls of Australia are the main features of this site.
IUCN Red list of threatened species
International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species is one of the world’s most comprehensive information sources on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
Xeno-canto
Xeno-canto is a website dedicated to wildlife sounds from all over the world.
Species profile and threats database
The EPBS Act list of threatened fauna - species and ecological communities.

Ornithology journals

Bird sounds Australia

Graeme Chapman - bird calls

Melbourne Museum - bird call quiz

Do you know your bird calls? Test your knowledge with this quick (10 multiple choice) quiz from the Melbourne Museum:

https://museumsvictoria.com.au/melbournemuseum/at-home/play/bird-calls/

Have fun!