It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find eBooks purchased by the Library using Primo Search. Enter your keyword search and use the Refine my results options to limit the results to Books that are Available online. Alternatively, use the search box below.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.
The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An EBSCOhost database of journal and other citations with much in full-text. It covers food science; food service; industry reports; packaging & shipping; processing.
Food Science Source is a database containing full-text material which is designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels.
There are more than 1,400 full-text titles, including journals, book, magazines, and trade publications. More than 1,000 food and industry reports are available. Other material includes benchmarks and best practices in the food industry. Searchable cited references are included.
The content covers such industry sectors as food science; food service; processing; and packaging & shipping.
Food Science Source is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database which should have food-science-related material. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.
Free database from the (US) National Library of Medicine, which covers the biomedical literature and which is effectively the free public version of MEDLINE.
PubMed, developed by the National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the (US) National Library of Medicine (NLM), has more than 27 million records of articles in the biomedical literature, and a small selection of full-text items from the NCBI Books database. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and the life sciences.
PubMed is primarily an index, but many article records include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
One feature of PubMed is that a standard search will automatically map to relevant MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings), and include them in the search. You can also choose to search PubMed via the NLM's MeSH database.
PubMed includes a journals database, which can be searched in various ways, and the My NCBI feature, which allows for saving results and searches and for setting up alerts.
This is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. It is designed for the public library context, and includes a selection of consumer and news magazines. There are more than 550 titles, most with full-text available.
Subject coverage includes: women's health; food and nutrition; midwifery; eye care; dentistry; and children's health.
While primarily a consumer-health resource, this database does include important medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine.
This website provides information about activities and processes in the joint Australia and New Zealand food regulation system, including roles and responsibilities of the relevant food standards settings and regulatory authorities.
Guidelines for healthy eating based on the best available scientific evidence including the Australian Dietary Guidelines (2013), Infant Feeding Guidelines (2012) and Nutrient Reference Values for Australia and New Zealand.
This decadal plan sets out a strategy for realising the vision that Australian nutrition science plays a key role in
improving long-term health and wellbeing globally, while delivering environmental, social and economic benefits nationally.
CSIRO's food innovation centre allows food, ingredient and equipment manufacturing companies to access expertise, technologies and support in innovation. Provides expertise in protein foods, food safety, consumer science and food processing.
A continuously evolving alternative to the weight-centered approach to treating clients and patients of all sizes. It promotes size acceptance, to end weight discrimination and stigma, and to lessen the cultural obsession with weight loss and thinness.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.