Library Guides: Public Health: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Oxford dictionary of public health by Porta, M.S. & Last, J. M.
Publication Date: 2018
A dictionary of epidemiology by Porta, M. (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of primary prevention and health promotion by Gullotta, T. P. & Bloom, M. (Eds.)
Publication Date: 2014

Quick links

eBook collections

Books@OVID This link opens in a new window
More than 300 titles in nursing, dentistry, pharmacy and other health subjects. These books are from leading medical publishers including Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW), McGraw-Hill, and Lexicomp.
The link here is to an alphabetical title list but you can also browse by subject. In the same panel, you can "search all books" or you can go to the familiar Ovid search interface, with options for Keyword, Author, Title, Book Name, and "Natural Language" searching.

You may download and/or print sections of books.

There is unlimited access to most titles, with some restricted to one user only.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine, from McGraw-Hill Medicine, is a collection of eBooks and interactive resources related to study and clinical practice in science and medicine.
Resources include:
• More than 180 medical reference eBooks
• A multimedia library that includes videos, audio files, and animations
• A differential diagnosis tool
• Quick reference tools
• Self-assessment Q&A
• 2-Minute Medicine
• Patient education resources
• Drug Database
• Downloadable images.

You can search across the whole site, or browse by resource/content type.

To make use of personalised features, including creating quizzes, saving images, and saving favourites, create a (free) MyAccess Profile. You can do this from the Charles Sturt University drop-down at the top-right of the AccessMedicine screen. See also McGraw-Hill’s MyAccess Profile video.
ClinicalKey Student: Medicine This link opens in a new window
An interactive platform with a range of resources for learning and teaching in Medicine. Note: To access content on this site you need to follow a login process. We recommend that you use or create an Elsevier account - see more information ... below.
ClinicalKey Student:Medicine is a collection of medicine and medical science resources comprising:
• more than 200 textbooks covering 40 medical specialties, including Gray's Anatomy for Students and Medical Physiology
• more than 850 associated videos, ranging from practical demonstrations of anatomical dissections to instructional clinical examination examples
• more than 85,000 images
• more than 1,500 quick-access summaries of medical conditions.

To access the content you will need to follow a login process: we recommend that you choose the option to create and use an Elsevier account. If you already have a ScienceDirect, Scopus, or Mendeley registration then you can use that. If you do set up an account you will need to remember the email address you use, and your password. If, when logging in, you are asked to Choose Organization, go with the default (Charles Sturt University, IP_CSU_Bathurst) and click on Continue.

Once you are signed in you can access and read content directly, or via the Bookshelf, which gives you enhanced navigation and personalisation features. (Note: When you use Bookshelf for the first time you need to be in a book chapter before you click the ‘Launch Bookshelf’ link. After the first time, you can access Bookshelf from the 'Bookshelf' link at the top of the screen or from within a book chapter.)

You can also use the Bookshelf mobile app or desktop app to read content offline and use the personalisation features.

This resource does not allow for printing sections of text.

For more on access and use, go to the ClinicalKey Student Support Center.

This site is more than just a collection of resources. It also offers interactive teaching and learning tools. Teaching staff can create and assign assessments, and track students’ performance, while students can enhance their learning by creating quizzes.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database with hundreds of journals, most available in full-text, and other content, covering public health.
Specific topics covered include nutrition & dietetics; physical fitness & hygiene; population studies; statistics; drug abuse & alcoholism; industrial health & safety; communicable diseases; allergology & immunology; and nurses and nursing.

Key full-text titles include:
* The Lancet
* American Journal of Public Health
* Maternal and Child Health Journal
* AIDS Education and Prevention
* Diabetes Care
* Epidemiology and Infection
* Public Health Nutrition
* Bulletin of the World Health Organization
* New England Journal of Medicine.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination. If you wish to search more broadly, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several ProQuest databases covering health and medicine.
EBSCOhost (Health) This link opens in a new window
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with Health Collection selected.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.

Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.

Coverage extends back to 1977.

Your searching from this link will be within the Health Collection database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in Health Collection. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
MEDLINE ALL (includes MeSH headings) [1946 to Present] This link opens in a new window
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is very similar to the free and publicly available PubMed.

See all Allied Health databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Websites

Public Health Guidelines - NICE
Public health evidence based "guidance and advice" from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence in the U.K.
Martindale's The "Virtual" Public Health Center
A US directory of public health-related sites and resources, covering environment, disaster, epidemiology and safety.
APO - Analysis & Policy Observatory
APO provides access to research, reports and other resources for Australia and New Zealand public policy and practice. Search for Health, or browse the special collections.

Professional organisations

Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA)
The PHAA is recognised as the principal non-government organisation for public health in Australia and works to promote the health and well-being of all Australians.
Australian Health Promotion Association (AHPA)
The only professional association in Australia for people interested or involved in health promotion. It leads, supports, and advocates for health promotion practice, research, evaluation, and policy.
Environmental Health Australia
The premier environmental health professional association in Australia.
Australian Institute of Health & Safety
Australia's professional association for the health and safety profession.

Health statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics
The ABS is Australia's national statistical agency. It provides statistics on a wide range of economic, social and health matters.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW)
Data on a wide variety of health topics are available in data cubes and spreadsheets (Excel files). Data linking and customized data analysis can also be requested. Data from AIHW is published in reports and bulletins.
Health, Nutrition, and Population
Health, nutrition and population (HNP) data and statistics, provided by The World Bank.
World Health Organization (WHO) – Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
Featuring a data repository, reports, country statistics, maps and standards.