Skip to Main Content

MD Research Project Guide: ERIC

A guide for the School of Rural Medicine's MD research project

Introduction to ERIC

In medical research you might need to search for material in education-related databases rather than, or as well as, health-related databases.

The best known international education database is ERIC - Education Resources Information Center. 

Like MEDLINE, you can access it in various platforms: 

Please note that if you wish to use the EBSCOhost version, then the search functionality will be similar to that for CINAHL, so use this guide's page on CINAHL Plus with Full-Text for hints and tips on searching.

Remember, that once you are in either the EBSCOhost platform, or the ProQuest platform, you can pick and choose from the menu of databases. ProQuest itself recommends searching ERIC and Education Database together, but you can also choose to search ERIC and Nursing and Allied Health Database together. Similarly, in EBSCOhost, you can choose to search ERIC and Education Research Complete together, and/or in combination with CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Other education databases

There are other education-related databases in the Library's Education & Teaching list:

  • EBSCOhost (Education) is a package of EBSCOhost databases with education-related content. It includes ERIC and Education Research Complete.
  • Education Database is a ProQuest database which includes much in full-text. As mentioned above, it can and should be searched in conjunction with ERIC.

ERIC - EBSCOhost - Video

EBSCOhost has a Database spotlight: ERIC video, which gives an overview of the database. But - warning! - it's 30 mins long.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.