- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides access to key statistics about a range of Australian industry.
- Austrade - The Australian government trade commission for Australian exporters and information for companies wanting to do business with Australia.
- Department of Industry, Innovation and Science - Government Industry Reports including: Advanced Manufacturing, Automotive, Biotechnology, Building, Metals and Construction, Defense, Space etc
- NSW Department of Industry - provides access to reports including economic reports, annual reports and industry profiles
- ABN Lookup - provides access to publicaly available information as supplied by businesses registered with an ABN.
- The Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC) - the regulation authority for Australian companies. The National Names Index can be freely searched from their website. This index gives basic details about all current and former Australian companies, business names, and other organisations.
Company information, annual reports and industry information
- AnnualReports.com Links to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMES, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V
- Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) - Australian industry association provides access to some free online resources such as economic outlook reports.
- Australian Stock Exchange company information Find market data and information about companies listed on the ASX
deListed -covers companies that are delisted, suspended, in administration, in receivership, and in liquidation. Only covers companies previously listed on ASX
News & media
Industry classification systems are used by government and business for classifying industries by numerical code. Use the following websites to find the industry code you are researching:
- ANZSIC Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification was produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand. ANZSIC codes are searchable in the IBISWorld Australian Industry Reports.
- GICS Global Industry Classification Standard is a joint Standard and Poor’s/Morgan Stanley Capital International product aimed at standardising industry definitions. All entities listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) are now classified using the GICS classification system.
- NAICS The North American Industry Classification System was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC). Databases such Factiva, Proquest and Ebsco allow searching by NAICS codes.
- SIC The Standard Industrial Classification System was replaced by the NAICS, which was released in 1997. Because SIC is still used by by some government bodies and in some markets, a number of databases allow searching by SIC code.