Library Guides: Company and industry information: Library databases

Where can I find company information?

Library databases:

Can help you locate company information and full text news articles
Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Have many options for refining results

In the table below you'll see a list of our best databases for locating company and industry information, along with search tips to help you find the information you need.

But these aren't the only databases that will be useful for your studies! Take a look the full range of our Business databases.

Searching for company and industry information in Library databases

The databases featured below provide access to company, market and industry information.

Database	About	Search tips
D&B Hoovers	Previously known as D&B Global Business Browser and before that as OneSource: Global Business Browser, this database provides a range of public and private company and industry information, worldwide and from the Asia Pacific and Australia/New Zealand regions.	When you first log in you might see a Preferences Setup screen. You can change certain preferences here if you like, and then click on Continue. The search box at the top of the screen defaults to showing Search for a Company The results list shows basic information, but more information is displayed when Quick View is selected
IBISWorld	IBISWorld is a private company which specialises in company and industry research. The collection here consists of Australian company and industry reports and analyses.	On the main page of the database, enter your company name, industry, or relevant keywords into the search box. You can also use the options across the top navigation to jump directly to Company Research or a range of Industry Research reports.
Factiva	A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research. NOTE: We only have 3 concurrent-user licenses to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.	Company Snapshot - from the Companies/Markets tab select Company. Search by company name, DUNS, Registration ID or Ticker. Industry Snapshots - from the Companies/Markets tab select Industry and choose the type of industry you are interested in from the list.
ProQuest Business Databases	ProQuest Business Databases is a large package of databases with a wide range of business, economics and management related materials and resources, including journal articles, media resources as well as company and industry reports.	For Company Profiles - enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box. For Industry Reports - enter industry into the Advance search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.
Business Source Complete	An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.	For Company Profiles - click on More from the drop down menu in the top toolbar above the search box and select Company Profiles or select Company Information link in the top toolbar. For Industry Reports - enter the name of an industry into the search box and limit to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report from the Publication Type box.
Business Market Research Collection	A ProQuest database with company and industry market research from 3 sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles; OxResearch; and Snapshots Series.	Company Profile - Enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box. Industry Report - Enter industry into the Advanced search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.
Warc	Covering marketing and advertising, Warc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.	Case studies - use the Case Finder tool to search by keyword and limit by a range of filters including media & channels, target audience, budget and more. Research articles, trends, company profiles and more can be found by opening the menu in the top right and expanding the analysis options. Alternatively use the basic or advanced search function and then use the left hand side options to filter your results.
Connect 4 - Annual Reports	This Australian product from Thomson Reuters provides the full-text of the annual reports of all companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, back to 1992.	You can search by various criteria such as Text Search, ASX Code and Company Name. A range of company documentation is available. Results show selected, predecessor, and successor companies.
Primo Search	Primo Search allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of the Charles Sturt University Library collection, such as: Books, eBooks, DVDs and journals Most online journal articles and newspaper articles Charles Sturt University research papers and theses	Company information - put quotation marks around your company name to make a phrase search. Remember to try searches using the company's legal name and their commonly used name. Use the left-hand side filter options to refine your list by date, resource type and more.

Help from a librarian

1800 275 278

Online chat

Email us

Book an appointment

See it in action: Search demonstration series

Media databases

ANZ Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand
This database includes titles from Fairfax (including The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald) and News Ltd (including The Australian, The Adelaide Advertiser, and The Herald Sun), plus leading regional and local newspaper titles from Australia and New Zealand, and transcripts and wire feeds from ABC programs.

Coverage varies, but most newspaper content is available from the mid- to late-nineties.

Other databases with online full-text newspaper content are Trove, Factiva, and Newspaper Source Plus.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.
Factiva is produced by Dow Jones, a leading global provider of economic and financial information.

The database has full-text content from newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites.

It includes material from :
* Australian newspapers, including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, and Business Review Weekly
* US newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal
* Magazines, journals and trade publications, including Forbes and Newsweek
* Newswires, including AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones
* company reports
* other content including TV and radio podcasts; and major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards.

Coverage varies but goes back as far as 1980.

There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder (Charles Sturt's subscription defaults to Search Builder), Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.

NOTE: Charles Sturt Library has only 3 concurrent-user licences to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.
Informit EduTV This link opens in a new window
An Australian Informit database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with EduTV selected.
Lecturers and students can find and instantly watch Australian television content.

Features of this database include:
* Instant streaming access to more than 10,000 programs via computer, tablet, or smartphone;
* Archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly;
* Content which includes documentaries, drama, series, and more from both free-to-air and pay-TV;
* Study guides and articles to complement the programs.

Your searching from this link will be within the EduTV database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in EduTV. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
TVNews This link opens in a new window
An Informit database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with TVNews selected.
This database provides video from television news and current affairs programs, and selected documentaries, from the Australian free-to-air networks. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed and have detailed summaries. TVNews is updated daily, with stories from an evening news broadcast generally being available the next morning.

The video for each story or documentary is available in WMV format as a progressive download, allowing viewing to begin before the total video file is transferred. Items range in duration from less than 30 seconds for short news stories, to more than 60 minutes for selected documentaries. Transcripts are NOT included.

Your searching from this link will be within the TVNews database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in TVNews. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Simple Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

Coverage is from August 2007- present.

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2024 12:45 PM
URL: https://libguides.csu.edu.au/company
Print Page

Subjects: Accounting, Economics & Finance, Business, Management, Marketing & WHS

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.