Skip to Main Content

ENG599 Research Skills Guide: Annotated Bibliography

This guide is designed to support students completing ENG599

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

The CSU Guide to Writing Your First Assignment (opens as pdf) describes an annotated bibliography as follows:

Annotate means to ‘make a note’, and biblio refers to ‘book’. Simply stated, an annotated bibliography is a list of sources or citations with a brief evaluative summary (annotation) about each source. Its purpose is to describe and evaluate a full text in a way that provides sufficient information for the reader to make an informed decision about whether they are likely to benefit from reading the full text (p.7).

WHERE CAN I FIND MORE INFORMATION?

Here are some resources you may find useful:

  • Annotated Bibliography by the University of New South Wales. Describes the purpose of an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into many smaller parts; includes focus questions; and offers an example annotation.
  • Writing an Annotated Bibliography by Queensland University of Technology. Discusses why you might write an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into three sections; and includes a revision checklist.

A quick search in Google will reveal a number of useful resources about how to write an annotated bibliography. Keep an eye out for resources by educational institutions, particularly those ending in edu.au.

EndNote for Annotated Bibliographies

Using EndNote to create an annotated list.

Step 1.Create an EndNote group for your annotated bibliography references.

Step 2.Creating your Annotated list in a word document.

  • Select the references that you want to use, by either selecting the whole group or select multiple references using the Ctrl key for Windows, or Command key if using a Mac.
  • Use the Copy formatted shortcut, Ctrl k to copy these to your clipboard.
  • Paste the results to your word document. You can insert your annotations below each reference to create your annotated Bibliography.
  • Note:The references below do not show the required indent for APA 7th, due to this guide's settings.

Step 3. You can insert your annotations below each reference to create your annotated Bibliography.

Examples:

Bay, U. (2013). Transition town initiatives promoting transformational community change in tackling peak oil And climate change  challenges. Australian Social Work, 66(2), 171-186. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2013.78120

This paper focuses on quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?

Beaumont, E., Chester, P., & Rideout, H. (2017). Navigating ethical challenges in social media: Social work student and practitioner perspectives. Australian Social Work, 70(2), 221-228. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2016.1274416

This gives and interesting perspective of ut enim ad minima veniam, quis nostrum exercitationem ullam corporis suscipit laboriosam, nisi ut aliquid ex ea commodi consequatur? Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?

Beddoe, L. (2010). Social work and power. Australian Social Work, 63(3), 361-362. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2010.500650

The author presents a case where quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?

Video

Link to Annotated Bibliography video

To access the video above, select the image. In a new window select the Sign In box at the top right of the page. Below the sign in options, select SIgn in with your organization account. Enter your Charles Sturt Username followed by @csu.edu.au - e.g., agood01@csu.edu.au and select Sign In.

Academic writing support

Charles Sturt University also has other services which can help you to get the best possible results for your work:

  • Turnitin Software - A Turnitin account allows you to check your own writing for inadvertent plagiarism or quotation errors.  Detect and fix problems before submission. Some assessments will require you to submit your work to Turnitin before final submission! 
  • Access support guides and advice to help you understand and prepare for your assignments in the Learning Skills section of the Student Portal.
  • The Study Success Forum is an ideal place to post those vexing questions about assignment writing techniques. Find it in Interact2 > Study Success > Discussion.
  • Why not attend an Academic Skills workshop online to enhance or refresh your academic writing skills.
  • Make an appointment with an Academic Skills adviser for personal help seven days a week.

 

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.