Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Information for Speech Pathology: ERIC

A Library Guide to help with developing research projects in speech pathology (SPH516, SPH526, & SPH423)

Introduction to ERIC

Because of the nature of speech pathology research, and depending on your actual topic, you might need to search for material in education-related databases rather than (or as well as!) health-related databases.

The best known international education database is ERIC - Education Resources Information Center. You will notice that it's the first one listed on CSU Library's list of Education & Teaching Databases.

You can access it in various platforms: 

Please note that if you wish to use the EBSCOhost version, then the search functionality will be similar to that for CINAHL, so use this guide's page on CINAHL Plus with Full-Text for hints and tips on searching. If you wish to use the ProQuest version, then refer to the page on Nursing and Allied Health Database.

Remember that, once you are in either the EBSCOhost platform, or the ProQuest platform, you can pick and choose from the menu of databases. ProQuest itself recommends searching ERIC and Education Database together, but you can also choose to search ERIC and Nursing and Allied Health Database together. Similarly, in EBSCOhost, you can choose to search ERIC and Education Research Complete together, and/or in combination with CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Other Education Databases

There are other education-related databases in the Library's Education & Teaching list:

  • EBSCOhost (Education) is a package of EBSCOhost databases with education-related content. It includes ERIC and Education Research Complete.
  • Education Database is a ProQuest database which includes much in full-text. As mentioned above, it can and should be searched in conjunction with ERIC.

How to Search EBSCOhost Databases