Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Information for Speech Pathology: A Refresher on Databases

A Library Guide to help with developing research projects in speech pathology (SPH516, SPH526, & SPH423)

What is the difference between a database and a database platform?

A DATABASE is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. In the Library this includes databases which have:

  • journal article (and other) citations, where there is no full-text;
  • journal article (and other) citations, where all records have the full-text attached;
  • a mixture of the first two above (this is the most common);
  • other types of records, eg. videos, images, or listings of people or companies.

A DATABASE PLATFORM is a company which provides access to a number of databases, via a search interface unique to that company, where the databases can be searched/browsed individually or together.

The 4 main database platforms, and examples of databases they contain

Platform Database
EBSCOhost
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Informit
  • Health Collection
  • Rural & Remote Health
ProQuest
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source
  • ANZ Newsstream
Ovid
  • MEDLINE
  • PsycINFO

It is important to realise that, once you are in one of the database platforms, you can search across a number of databases at the same time. In some cases, the Library provides a package of subject-related databases that are in the same platform. Two examples of this are:

Changing Databases Within the Main Platforms

How do you change databases or choose other databases within the main platforms?

EBSCOhost:

  • At the search screen, click on Choose Databases (link is above the search box(es))
  • At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on OK.

 

ProQuest:

  • At the search screen, click on the link to Change Databases - the link is in the line of links below the ProQuest banner
  • At the menu of databases, locate the database(s) you require in the hierarchy of databases (this can be a bit tricky)
  • Tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on Use selected databases.

 

Ovid:

  • In the search panel, click on the link to Change, below the tabs for search modes
  • At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on OK.

Online Journal Articles Explained

Finding full-text

Most library databases comprise journals and articles, which is why CSU Library calls them Journal Databases.

Usually, if an article has full-text available, there will be a link somewhere close to the record.

IF THERE IS NO FULL-TEXT LINK, you can click on the Find it at CSU link to search for the full article in other databases to which CSU subscribes.

Follow the prompts to go via Primo Search to the article record in the new database, with a link to the full item.

If you are having trouble getting the full-text of an item, please contact Tim or the Library.