Library Guides: ITC571 Research Skills Guide: Using eBooks

Ebook collections

IGI Global / InfoSci-Books This link opens in a new window
IGI Global / Info Sci-Books is a research collection of thousands of scholarly works on information technology and computer science. The collection is mainly eBooks but also includes more than 150 eJournals. Results are available at chapter/article level.
IGI Global is a publisher of books, journals, and other materials in the areas of education, social science, library science, healthcare, business, environmental science, public administration, computer science, and engineering.

The collection here includes both eBooks (InfoSci-Books), and eJournals (InfoSci-Journals), and also a small collection of eBooks on library science (Library Information Science). These are all options in the Research Collections panel.

The default screen is the list of eBooks but you can change to the list of eJournals, or you can choose to search or browse across the whole database. To do this, click on Database Search in the E-Database Tools panel.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of eBooks and other resources, including videos and training resources, mainly in the areas of information technology and business. To access content on this site you need to follow a login process. See more … below.
This collection was previously known as Safari Books Online and previously contained only a relatively small number of eBooks. It now contains more than 35,000 items.

Specific topics covered include career development; cloud computing; data science; design; digital and network security; hardware; machine learning & artificial intelligence; mathematics, science & engineering; programming languages; software development; and system administration.

Content includes eBooks, videos, case studies, Learning Paths, and "Oriole" tutorials.

To log in from the O’Reilly login page:
• Enter your Charles Sturt email address or use student@csu.edu.au
• Click on the Sign in link or click in the password box (you don’t need to enter a password at this point)
• Click on Sign in with Single Sign On
• At the Charles Sturt login page, use your Charles Sturt username and password.

For more information, see the O'Reilly for Higher Education page in the Library's eBooks Guide.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library

ITC571 Research Skills Guide: Using eBooks

Ebook collections

eBook etiquette