Library Guides: ITC571 Research Skills Guide: Develop your skills

Welcome

This guide has been created to help you with your research for ITC571.

Each section introduces the steps you should take when researching for an assessment. You'll find links to videos and resources that will give you the tools to find great information. Use the activities on the test your knowledge tab to see what you need to revise.

If you would like an introduction to our Library website and services check out:

Watch: Online Library 101

Get started with keywords

This subject requires you to find a suitable capstone research project on a topic related to emerging technologies and innovation.

The first thing is to make sure you clearly understand the assessment requirements and what topic you are seeking information for before planning how to search for information. In your project proposal, you need to identify the key research problem area within your topic and discuss what the literature is saying about the identified problem.

Let's suppose you have chosen the following topic to focus on for your capstone project:

The security and privacy challenges associated with immersive technology.

You will need to make a note of synonyms or related terms that you can use to search for information on this topic.

For example:

Keywords	Synonyms or related terms
immersive technology	mixed reality, extended reality, augmented reality, virtual reality, immersive experience, virtual technology
security	cybersecurity, data protection, information security, network security, digital safety, secure computing
privacy	privacy protection, data privacy, personal data protection, information privacy, privacy safeguards

For guidance in topic analysis check out:

Developing a research question

According to the Writing Center (George Mason University), a research question is a clear, focused, concise, complex, and arguable question around which you centre your research.

Research Methodology

SAGE Research Methods - Foundations This link opens in a new window
This is an introductory resource to major research methods.
Sage Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to research methods and terms for those who are new to research in general or new to a particular method.

It covers qualitative and quantitative methods; key research studies; profiles of important researchers; and the history, development, and debates around the major topics in research methods.

You can search using a basic search box, or browse in various categories including Foundation Entries, Pioneers, Other Entries, and Series.
SAGE Research Methods - Videos This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of videos covering the research process, research methods, and statistics. Content includes tutorials, interviews, video case-studies, mini-documentaries, and an entire 15-hour introductory statistics course. Transcripts are included.
There are four collections:

• SAGE Research Methods Videos
• Practical Research and Academic Skills
• Data Science, Big Data Analytics, and Digital Methods
• Sage Research Methods Video: Qualitative and Mixed Methods.

You can browse these collections individually, or search across all three. Note that if you click on Advanced Search you will be searching across the entire Sage Research Methods Online package.

Search results can be in the form of entire videos, or short clips from videos.

For help with using the SAGE Video collections, go to the SAGE Video guide.

Sage Research Methods Online – Videos is a component of the broader SAGE Research Methods Online, a comprehensive resource to help with selecting, designing, and applying research methods. Note that, if you use the Browse or Research Tools links at the very top centre of the screen, these will take you into the overall SAGE Research Methods Online.

Choosing the right place to search

Before you start searching, think about what types of information you need and where you can search to find those types of resources.

Primo Search

Primo Search is a good place to start as it allows you to use one search box to bring back results from most of our Library collection including books, eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles and more. You may get a large number of results and some of these will be from outside your subject/discipline area. Check the content is relevant to your assessment task before you use it.

Library databases

Databases will help you find academic resources and are often subject specific. You will get fewer results than Primo, but they will be more relevant to your subject/discipline.

I recommend trying the following databases:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Incorporates two resources: one a full-text collection of publications of the Association for Computing Machinery; the other a collection more than 750,000 citations from 3000+ publishers, including the ACM.
ACM Library is a large collection of citations and full-text items from the Association of Computing Machinery.

The resource has two components:
* The ACM Digital Library, a repository of papers published or co-published by the ACM;
* The Guide to Computing Literature, a collection more than 750,000 citations from 3000+ publishers, including the ACM.

It is the ACM Digital Library that is the full-text resource. Our subscription includes access to more than 320 publications, including journals, magazines, newsletters, transactions, proceedings, and publications by affiliated organisations.

ACM Library offers not only searching and browsing but also personalised services such as saving results and queries, and setting up Table-Of-Contents (TOC) alerts.

Coverage is from 1947 - current, and updating is weekly.

Note: ACM journals which we previously subscribed to in print have been converted to online access and are available in this collection.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database of citations, article summaries, and full-text articles which covers computing and technology and includes more than 1000 full-text periodicals.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) "covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines". It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2100 publications, including academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources.

Searchable cited references are included for key journals.

Subjects covered include: engineering disciplines; computer theory & systems; and the impact of, and the social and professional context of, new technologies.

This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of publications from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners, including the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). These organisations are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.
Subject content includes electrical and electronics engineering, computer science, and associated topics such as aerospace engineering, biomedical sciences, geosciences, physics, medical imaging, digital animation and media, and telecommunications.

The main content that you have access to in IEEE Xplore is the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL), which includes access to full text articles published since 1988 (and select content published since 1893) from:
* more than 150 IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines;
* 25 IET journals and magazines;
* proceedings from more than 1000 IEEE and IET annual conferences;
* more than 2,100 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields;
* the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.

You also have access to:
* the VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings, which include AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from more than 20 annual conference titles. [VDE Verlag is a European technical/scientific publisher]; and to
* individual online journals, including access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology and from IEEE Transactions on Image Processing.

Updating is weekly, and more than 25,000 new IEEE/IET articles are added each month.
ProQuest Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Computer Science Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. It includes more than 450 titles, with more than 350 of these available in full-text. Sources include scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles.
Subjects covered include: artificial intelligence; computer games, graphics, networks, programming, security, and systems; database design; database management; e-commerce; electronic data processing; hardware; information science and information theory; information systems; internet; intranets and extranets; LANs and WANs; software; software development; and website development.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of any ProQuest screen, then on Change databases. Other IT-related ProQuest databases include the ProQuest Telecommunications Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.

The IT, Computing & Mathematics list has more databases you can search. Don't restrict yourself to just "your" discipline list, there may be relevant databases in other discipline areas.

Learn how to search efficiently in Primo and Library databases:

Other Sources

To see more recommended resources for Information Technology & Computing, check out:

Creating a search strategy

When you search using Primo Search or a library database use the keywords and limits you identified above to create your search. Combine the keywords with search operators, rather than searching with a whole sentence or question. Search operators tell Primo or the database how to search with your keywords.

Example search strings:

"immersive technology" AND cybersecurity
cybersecurity OR "data protection" OR "information security" OR "network security"
"immersive technology" AND (cybersecurity OR "data protection" OR "information security" OR "network security")
cybercrime NOT crime
privacy AND safeguard*

Remember: you will need to try a range of searches. Don't stop after just one.

To understand how search operators work check out:

Saving searches and creating alerts

Most databases provide the option to save your searches and set up alerts to help you keep up to date with the latest research. To do this you will need to create an account within a database which is separate from your Charles Sturt University login.

A search alert will be sent to you after you have saved a database search that you run periodically.
A table of contents (ToC) alert will allow you to receive the table of contents lists for selected recent journal issues.

To find out how to set this up within different databases see the Library's Keep up to date with the literature.

Evaluating sources

Using credible information will improve the quality of your assessment and may result in better marks, but how can you tell whether the resources you've found are credible and suitable for your assessment? Have you been asked to use peer reviewed, academic or refereed articles? Are you using authoritative websites?

The information below will help you evaluate the information you find, in books, journal articles, or online to make sure it’s reliable.

Managing references

You can use software to manage your references and generate references and citations in word documents. EndNote is available to CSU staff and students through the Software downloads page. Support for EndNote is provided by the Library.

Discover EndNote

Reading, writing and referencing

The Academic Skills team can help you to build your writing, referencing and reading skills to be successful at Charles Sturt.

Explore resources from the Academic Skills team in the Learning Skills section of the Student Portal.

Here are some pages to get you started:

Watch this video to see demonstrations of advanced search techniques across a range of recommended databases.

Watch: ITC571 database search demonstrations

Using AI

Have you been asked to use Generative AI Tools (GAITs) in your assessment? Or are you thinking of using GAITs for research and study?

Make sure you are aware of the risks associated with using GAITs:

Academic integrity
Plagiarism
Inaccurate content
Intellectual property
Privacy concerns.

For more information see:

Library Guide: Generative AI

Microsoft Copilot

You have access to Microsoft Copilot's secure enterprise version while studying at Charles Sturt. This means your data is protected when using the secure version of Copilot via a student account, hence your data isn't retained or used for training the genAI. To find out how to access, head over to Charles Sturt's Microsoft Copilot page.

Develop your digital skills

Our Digital Skills module series is designed to empower you with the tools and knowledge needed to thrive in the digital landscape, at university and beyond.

Check out the Digital skills module series to discover tips on content creation, security and safety in the digital world, AI and more.

Keen for more?

If you're interested in finding out more, check out the following:

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2025 4:22 PM
URL: https://libguides.csu.edu.au/itc571
Print Page

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.