Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BMS105/132 Research Skills Guide: ebooks

Introduction to ebooks

eBooks or electronic books can be accessed anywhere, anytime and can be read on personal portable devices. Charles Sturt University Library purchases a growing number of quality eBooks to support teaching, learning and research.

The eBooks Library Resource Guide provides more information about finding and using eBooks in the CSU Library collection.

eBooks are protected by Digital Rights Management (DRM). Different publishers apply different levels of DRM restrictions which may limit the number of devices an eBook can be copied to, or impose limits on borrowing, printing, downloading and modifying. See eBook Collections@CSU Library for information on loan periods, printing in our major eBook collections. However, some publisher's collections of eBooks are DRM free.

DRM is applied to various file formats. The most widely used eBook file formats are Adobe (.pdf) and (.epub) but some big companies like Amazon use their own file format (.azw). 

Find ebooks @ CSU

You can find eBooks purchased by CSU Library using Primo Search. Enter your keyword search and use the Refine my results options to limit the results to Books that are Available online. You can also find eBooks in our A-Z Databases page using the Database Type filter, and search directly within one of our many eBook Collections. For more information on using our major eBook Collections please see eBooks Collections@CSU Library in this Guide