So, you’ve found articles, books, and maybe even some web resources.
Now it’s time to check if they’re suitable for your portfolio assessment.
Activity 2 requires you to evaluate six different sources using the CRAAP test:
You’ll also need to provide correct APA references for each source.
Using Generative AI?
It’s important to understand the risks. AI tools can help brainstorm ideas, but they may produce inaccurate or fabricated references. Always verify and apply the CRAAP test before using any AI-generated content.
Activity 4: Evaluating Your Primary Research Article
Once you’ve selected an original research article (not a review), go deeper:
• Check Journal Quality - Use the Journal Ranking tab to find the journal’s Q ranking and impact factor. Higher-ranked journals generally indicate stronger peer review and credibility.
• Citation Count - Look at how often the article has been cited. A higher citation count can suggest influence, but consider the context (recent articles may have fewer citations).
• Funding & Conflicts of Interest - Was the research funded by an independent body? Are there any declared conflicts of interest?
• Research Design - Does the article clearly describe its methods? Could the study be replicated?
• Strengths & Limitations - Identify what the study does well and where it falls short. Are the conclusions supported by the data?
Tip: Use these checks to complete Activity 4 in your portfolio template. They help you demonstrate critical thinking and academic rigor.
Articles published in peer-reviewed or refereed journals have been through a formal approval process. An editor and one or more subject specialists (generalist and interdisciplinary thinkers) review the article before it is accepted for publication. This process is intended to ensure that the article is accurate, well-researched, and contributes to the body of knowledge in the field.
Primo Search and some Journal Databases include an option to limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, and some other databases include this information as part of an article record. While this is an indication that the article could be peer-reviewed, the definitive way to find out is to use Ulrichsweb Global Periodicals Directory. You can access this database from the Library's list of U-databases.
| Currency |
Is it current enough for your topic? A general rule is to use resources published in the last 5 years. |
| Reliability |
Is the source reputable and supported by evidence? Is it peer-reviewed and includes a reference list? Do those references seem credible? |
| Authority |
Who is the creator or author? What are their background, qualifications and experience? Authority doesn't always mean being a specialist - generalist and interdisciplinary thinkers can also provide valuable insights Look for relevance and thoughful engagements, not just credentials or publication count. Be mindful of bias; avoid assumptions based on name, affiliation or appearance. |
| Accuracy |
Is the information reliable and free of errors? Is it supported by evidence and proper research methods? Are sources clearly cited, with a corresponding reference list? |
| Purpose |
Is it fact or opinion? Is it balanced or biased? Is the creator trying to persuade or sell you something? |
Generative AI tools can help you brainstorm ideas and suggest potential sources, but they do not search academic databases and may provide inaccurate or outdated information. Always verify any information they provide using trusted sources.
Tips for Using AI Responsibly
You can ask AI tools questions like:
• Can you give me some reputable sources for information on [topic]?
• What are some well-known journals or books on [topic]?
• Who are some experts or researchers in the field of [topic]?
However:
• AI suggestions may miss recent publications.
• Never rely solely on AI recommendations—cross-check with your library databases and evaluate sources yourself.
Checking AI-Generated References
AI-generated references can often be inaccurate or fabricated, regardless of the tool or version. Even the latest models may produce errors. Before using them:
• Check if the journal or book title exists in Primo or Trove.
• Verify volume, issue, and date details.
• Confirm page numbers and article/chapter titles match.
If all match, the reference might be valid—but always read the source and apply the CRAAP test before citing.
Important Warnings
• AI tools are language models, not research engines. They predict text patterns, not retrieve verified sources.
• Consider academic integrity, plagiarism risks, inaccurate content, intellectual property, and privacy concerns when using AI.
The type of domain provides you a hint as to the reliability of the website at which you are looking.
|
.edu (educational institution) .gov (government)
|
These are more likely to be reliable and unbiased. |
|
.org (non-profit organisation) .asn (non-commercial organisation) |
Sometimes these organisations can be biased toward one side of an issue that is actually quite complex. |
|
.com (commercial site) .net (network) |
Try to avoid these sites as they are likely to be unreliable. .net is the domain given to any site that doesn't fit into the other domain categories. |
If you find a .com or .net site that you think is ok, look at the currency, reliability, authority and purpose to see if your suspicion is supported by evidence.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
