Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Should You Use Journal Databases?
Journal Database is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. Journal databases :
best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments help you locate
peer reviewed articles Are
subject specific, so that you get more relevant results Have many options for
You can find the Library's databases on the
Journal Databases page.
Databases are grouped into subject areas. The
Science databases or Medical Sciences & Dentistry will be particularly useful for your study.
Go to the
ProQuest Science Database, login and try typing in – " Socioeconomic status" AND diet
Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being a Health
database, they should be more relevant to your topic. Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the
button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
Want to learn more about journal databases?
The Library holds a series of
Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching. We also have a
Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases.
Journal articles and library databases
Scholarly vs popular vs trade journals
This 3 minute video from the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University talks about the differences between popular and scholarly articles. It also mentions trade publications.