Question 1: What is the purpose of a topic analysis?
The purpose of a topic analysis is to help clarify what you are being asked to do
Question 2: Identify and define the elements of a topic analysis.
Question 3: What is the point in trying to find synonyms and similar words for your keywords?
Synonyms and similar words can help you to expand your search to include information on the same topic that uses different terminology
Question 4: Why is it useful to know about the purposes of different sources of information?
It is important to know about the purposes of different sources of information because this can help you chose where to start your search
Question 5: What services are Online students who live in Australia provided regarding hard copy library items?
Online students (who live in Australia) are entitled to have library items posted to them. This is a free service. The Library also provides students with a reply paid post label to return items.
Question 6: What kind of resources can you find using Primo Search?
Primo Search lets you search most of the Library’s collection, so you can find books, eBooks, journals, eJournals, research papers, theses, and more.
Question 7: How can you find an eBook?
You can search for eBooks in Primo Search. Once you have found one you like, you can view it via an eBook database. To borrow an eBook, you can usually either create an online loan, where you can read the eBook within the database, or you can download the eBook onto your computer (or portable device) and read it. The eBook will “expire” at the end of the loan period.
Question 8: What is a journal database?
A journal database is a collection of journal article records that can be accessed electronically.
Question 9: What can you do if the journal database you are using has an article record that you think might be useful, but does not have a copy of the full text?
In most cases you can click the 'Find it at CSU' button to see if any other journal databases have access to the full text.
Question 10: For what does the acronym CRAP stand, and for what purpose can it be used?
CRAP stands for currency, reliability, authority, and purpose, and can be used to evaluate information.
Question 11: What is peer review and how can you find out if something is peer reviewed?
Peer review is a publishing process where a journal article is reviewed by subject specialists prior to being accepted for publication. You can use the Ulrichsweb database to discover whether a journal is peer reviewed.
Question 12: What is the purpose of critical appraisal?
Critical appraisals purpose is to evaluate, judge or examine the relevance, validity and results of the evidence found.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.