Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BMS105/132 Research Skills Guide: EBSCOhost (Health)

EBSCOhost (Health) - Introduction

EBSCOhost (Health) is a package of EBSCOhost databases put together by CSU Library, it includes coverage of pharmacy related topics. Databases included are: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source, Health Business Full Text Elite, Health Source - Consumer, Health Source - Nursing/Academic, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection and SocINDEX with Full Text.

Using EBSCOhost (Health)

The EBSCOhost (Health) Database defaults to the Advanced Search screen. The Advanced Search screen enables you to use one or more search rows to enter your query. Three rows are provided, to add more click on the + symbol that appears to the right of the search rows.

  • You have the option of changing the search field you wish to search across. If you do not change the default Select a Field option your search will be run across the main fields of each record in the database including title, abstract and subject headings. If you wish to narrow your search you can change the Search a Field option to one of the options available in the drop down menu, e.g. title, author or source.
  • EBSCO databases default to keyword search so typing in refugee health will search for refugee AND health. If you wish to search for a phrase you need to enclose the words in double quotation marks: "refugee health"
  • There are various limiters available in EBSCOhost databases. These works best if you are searching in only one database - or after a search has been run.
  • EBSCOhost defaults to sorting results by Relevance.
  • Many results will be available in full-text. Look for the HTML or PDF links to access the full article. For results where there is no full-text link, click on the Find it at CSU link to search for the full article in other CSU Library databases.
  • To see more information about each item, click on the Preview button to the right of the record. To add it into a folder, click on the Add to Folder button beside the Preview button.

For more information on searching in an EBSCOhost database check out the EBSCOhost Help Guide or watch the videos on this page.

Ebscohost Advanced search

ACTIVITY

Now you have created your search terms and know more about using databases it is time to start searching for information.

  • Login and navigate to the Biomedical Sciences section of the Journal Databases page in the box below
  • Locate and access the EBSCOhost database: EBSCOhost (Health)
  • Search the database using some of the keywords you brainstormed earlier.
  • Write down the details of three journal articles - you'll need these details a little later in the tutorial.

Today we are practicing with the EBSCOhost (Health) database collection. However, please note that all of the databases listed under Biomedical Sciences may contain useful information.

Cinahl - advanced search