Library Guides: SPH511 Research Skills Guide: Other databases

Other databases for health sciences

In addition to Primo Search, CINAHL, and speechBITE, there are other databases that you might want to try. There is a full list of recommended databases at the Allied Health databases list. You might like to also look at the databases recommended in the Library Resource Guide on Speech Pathology.

Other relevant databases and database packages include:

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including thousands of full-text journals) and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.

Coverage is from 1986 - present.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.

Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database.

If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
A package of ProQuest databases all with health-and-medicine-related material. You can also search these databases individually or in any combination. Includes MEDLINE (1946 - current) and Nursing and Allied Health Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 13 databases with health/medicine-related material. Some of these databases are the health-and-medicine subset of a larger database.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Consumer Health Database
* Health & Medical Collection
* Healthcare Administration Database
* MEDLINE (1946 - current)
* Nursing & Allied Health Database
* Psychology Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
* Public Health Database
* TOXLINE - does not include full-text material.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with Health Collection selected.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.

Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.

Coverage extends back to 1977.

Your searching from this link will be within the Health Collection database only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in Health Collection. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
MEDLINE ALL (includes MeSH headings) [1946 to Present] This link opens in a new window
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is very similar to the free and publicly available PubMed.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free database from the (US) National Library of Medicine, which covers the biomedical literature and which is effectively the free public version of MEDLINE.
PubMed, developed by the National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the (US) National Library of Medicine (NLM), has more than 27 million records of articles in the biomedical literature, and a small selection of full-text items from the NCBI Books database. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and the life sciences.

Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations; other records include those in various stages of processing for MEDLINE and a small number of non-MEDLINE citations. For information on the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE, see the NLM Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?.

PubMed is primarily an index, but many article records include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

One feature of PubMed is that a standard search will automatically map to relevant MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings), and include them in the search. You can also choose to search PubMed via the NLM's MeSH database.

PubMed includes a journals database, which can be searched in various ways, and the My NCBI feature, which allows for saving results and searches and for setting up alerts.

PubMed is updated weekly.