Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPH511 Research Skills Guide: Finding the full text of articles

Finding the full text

  • We have already seen that you can limit your search to show only articles where the full-text is available directly within CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
  • But many articles in CINAHL are citation-only – that is, there is no full-text attached within the database itself. What can you do in these situations?
  • You can use the                 Find it            button to activate a search for the full article in other CSU subscribed resources. If the article IS available in another database or journal collection, there will be a link into that other database.

Here’s an example:

Let’s say we have found the citation for the article “Developing personally relevant goals for people with mild dementia”. There is no full-text available in CINAHL :

 

  • We need to click on the                 Find it            option as this is the linking tool that displays links to the full text in other CSU subscribed resources....

The Find it at CSU link goes to the Primo Search records, showing full-text availability

 

 

  • First, we are taken to the Primo Search record which shows that the article is available at Thieme Connect:

 

 

 

  • Then, if we click on the link to Thieme Connect we are taken to the full article. Can you spot the link to the PDF?

Full-text result

 

 

 

 

 

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.