Library Guides: Charles Sturt University guide for HSC students: Open Access Resources

Using Primo to find Open Access material

Open access (OA) refers to freely available, digital, online information. OA scholarly literature is free of charge and often has less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works.

You can use our Library catalogue Primo Search to find OA eBooks, articles, journals and more. Primo can also help you manage your research. Once you've searched in Primo, limit your search results to 'Open Access' to see freely available material.

Free online resources

Try searching in these free Open Access online databases and websites for journal articles, books, statistics, reports and more:

AustLii
Provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials.
more information...less...
AustLII publishes public legal information, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals, and case law); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (for example, law reform and royal commission reports). There is also a substantial collection of law journals.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australian national statistics and census data.
CK-12
Study guides, simulations, interactive learning, practice units – real world applications, videos, flashcards, assessments e.g. physics simulations, maths practice tests, review scientific concepts. Also has free eBooks.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A searchable index of peer-reviewed books published under Open Access with links to the full-text at publisher websites or repositories. Browse by subject to find books in a variety of subject areas.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Searchable index of peer reviewed journals published under open access and freely available.
Open Library
Free digital lending library of over 2 million eBooks, including textbooks, plays, and key texts in science, literature, art, etc.
PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline.
more information...less...
It provides: Peer review by expert, practicing researchers and community-based dialogue on articles
Worldwide media coverage
Taylor & Francis Open
Access peer reviewed, open access journals covering a broad range of disciplines.
World Digital Library
Digitisations of Primary Source material from around the world, across a wide variety of subjects and time periods.