Library Guides: Charles Sturt University guide for HSC students: Aboriginal Studies

General resources

Indigenous Language Map
This map showcases over 780 language communities around Australia.
National Archives of Australia
Search through a great number of records about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and history.
Indigenous Weather Knowledge
Check out this intricate knowledge of the environment developed over thousands of years.
State Library of NSW - Indigenous Australians
Explore Aboriginal culture, history, language and art through the Library's stunning collection of manuscripts, artworks, photographs and printed books.
The Koori History Website
Indigenous history archive and education resource project.

ABC Online Indigenous
The ABC's portal for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.
National Film and Sound Archives - Indigenous Collection
Includes moving image and sound recordings of Indigenous peoples and cultures over the past 110 years.
National Indigenous Television (NITV)
Made by, for and about Indigenous Australians, educating all Australians and opening a dialogue with the wider community.
The Koori Mail Online Collection
The digitised collection of Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.

Indigenous.gov.au
Connecting Indigenous Australians with Government policies and programs.
National Indigenous Australians Agency
Works closely with State and Territory governments to ensure Indigenous programs and services are aiming for united objectives.
The Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council
Advises Government on practical changes to improve the lives of Indigenous peoples.
Aboriginal Affairs NSW
NSW Office of Communities.
Aboriginal Affairs
Western Australian Government.
Department of Seniors, Disability Services and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
Queensland Government.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Services
ACT Government.
Office of Aboriginal Affairs
Northern Territory Government.
Office of Aboriginal Affairs
Tasmanian Government.
First Peoples - State Relations
Victorian Government.

8 Aboriginal Ways of Learning
This framework allows teachers to include Aboriginal perspectives by using Aboriginal learning techniques.
NSW Education Standards Authority: Aboriginal Educational Contexts
This website shows the educational and cultural journeys of teachers, students and community members in a range of schools and communities.
TAFE NSW: Aboriginal Education
Explore courses offered by TAFE NSW, ranging from Indigenous music and film to Aboriginal languages and cultures.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
This website provides research to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health.
The Lowitja Institute
An organisation that concentrates on research to improve Indigenous health.
Indigenous Allied Health Australia
This body supports workers in the allied health sector to improve the health and wellbeing of Indigenous Australians.
Working together: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health and wellbeing principles and practice
A resource for mental health professionals, social workers and students working in the field of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health and wellbeing.

Aboriginal Customary Laws Report
Read the key recommendations from this report.
Australian Human Rights Commission: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Social Justice
Works to develop international human rights standards relating to Indigenous Australians.
Indigenous Justice Clearinghouse
Provide accessible information about Indigenous justice issues.
National Native Title Tribunal
Provides information on native title.

Australian Bureau of Statistics: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples
Australian Bureau of Statistics reports and data on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.
Indigenous Australians - Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
A statistical overview of the health of Indigenous Australians.
Australia's welfare 2021: In brief
Tells the story of welfare in Australia with key findings on Indigenous Australians.