This collection was previously known as Safari Books Online and previously contained only a relatively small number of eBooks. It now contains more than 35,000 items.

Specific topics covered include career development; cloud computing; data science; design; digital and network security; hardware; machine learning & artificial intelligence; mathematics, science & engineering; programming languages; software development; and system administration. 

Content includes eBooks, videos, case studies, Learning Paths, and "Oriole" tutorials.

To log in from the O’Reilly login page:
• Enter your Charles Sturt email address or use student@csu.edu.au
• Click on the Sign in link or click in the password box (you don’t need to enter a password at this point)
• Click on Sign in with Single Sign On
• At the Charles Sturt login page, use your Charles Sturt username and password.

For more information, see the O'Reilly for Higher Education page in the Library's eBooks Guide.

There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.

You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.

When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.

You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.

When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).

Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.

Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.

Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.

The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.

It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings. 

Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.

Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.

The database is updated daily.

Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost. 

Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

 

 

In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.

Charles Sturt does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.

In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.

You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.

This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 8 databases with arts-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. The list of databases below gives an indication of subject coverage. Some of these databases are the arts subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The specific databases are:
* Arts & Humanities Database
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: The Arts
* Career & Technical Education Database: The Arts
* India Database: The Arts
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
* Religion Database
* Research Library: The Arts.

Once in the ProQuest platform, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change Databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Specific topics covered include art history and theory, contemporary art, modern art, neoclassicism, Renaissance art, Romanticism, architectural design, and graphic design.

Content includes documentaries and interviews.

The collection can be searched using Basic or Advanced Search, and/or browsed in a number of ways. The collection has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource:
* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.

Once in this database you can search/browse in other disciplines in the VAST collection. You can also access the full VAST collection at VAST: Academic Video Online. You can search/browse across all the Alexander Street Press video collections at Alexander Street Press Video.