Library Guides: Graduate Certificate in Gerontology: Journal databases

Key journal databases

EBSCOhost (Health) This link opens in a new window
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
A package of ProQuest databases all with health-and-medicine-related material. You can also search these databases individually or in any combination. Includes MEDLINE (1946 - current) and Nursing and Allied Health Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 13 databases with health/medicine-related material. Some of these databases are the health-and-medicine subset of a larger database.

Most of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The main databases in this collection are:
* Consumer Health Database
* Health & Medical Collection
* Healthcare Administration Database
* MEDLINE (1946 - current)
* Nursing & Allied Health Database
* Psychology Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
* Public Health Database
* TOXLINE - does not include full-text material.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database of more than 1300 journals and other items, of which more than 1000 are available in full-text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Specific subject content includes addiction studies, anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, family studies, international relations, policy studies, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and urban studies.

Date coverage is from 1994 to current.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination. Other related databases include ProQuest Psychology Journals, and ProQuest's subject package of Social Sciences Databases.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.

From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt University are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.

One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online to users is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.

While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find link to search for the full item in other Library-subscribed resources.

Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.

Activity

Choose a database, login with your Charles Sturt University username and password if prompted, and search for elderly AND diversity

Because this is a Health or Social Sciences database, the results should be more relevant to your topic, even if you get less results than when your searched in Primo Search and Google Scholar.
Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Searching in a database

Journal articles and library databases

Other key gerontology journals

Understanding databases

Need some help with understanding how to use databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2024 3:00 PM
URL: https://libguides.csu.edu.au/gradcertgerontology
Print Page

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.