Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Certificate in Industrial Relations RSG: Use Journal Databases

Which Databases should I choose?

The Journal Articles page on the Industrial Relations Library Resource Guide provides a list of relevant journals and databases. 

Visit the Business Journal Databases listing for all potentially useful databases in your area. Note that you don't have to use every database for every assignment - but nor should you restrict your search to one database only.

Use the descriptions to read about the subject coverage of each database and the resource types that are included, to help guide your selection.

Don't forget, you can also use Primo Search and Google Scholar to locate journal articles.

Journal Database Search Strategies

When you go into a journal database you will notice that many of them feature multiple search boxes that are stacked one above the other in rows.

While they may look intimidating, they can make your search process easier.

Think of each row as a train of thought. For example, if you were searching for an article about the abuse of children in foster care, you could use a new row for each element of your topic. In this case you might search for:

1st search row: "employment law"
2nd search row: (living OR minimum) wage
3rd search row: Australia*

You'll notice we have used some search tips in the search above. Check out the Search Strategies page for a listing of these tips. 

Tip: If you want to learn more about how to maximise your search using search strategies, contact the Library. We can assist you in creating an effective search strategy.

Further Resouces

The Database Help Guide can also provide further assistance with understanding and using databases.

Searching in a database

Business Source Complete demonstration