There are a number of ways you can refine your results so that you can find the most relevant articles. These include:
If you're confident searching in Primo and library databases and are keen to extend your searching skills check out our Advanced Database Searching Online Library Workshop.
Look out for opportunities to attend a live session, or watch a recording anytime!
In this workshop we'll cover the skills below and more.
Records in library databases are comprised of fields containing specific pieces of bibliographic information. Limiting your search to specific fields can yield more precise results. Common fields include:
Searching within the abstract fields (AB) can be particularly helpful. This is because abstracts, as summaries of articles, are very keyword-rich: If you get a 'hit' on a keyword in an abstract you will usually find the article is relevant. The abstract is also a good source to find additional keywords you can use in your search strategies.
Depending on the database you have selected and the content it includes you will see a varying list of field options. For example in EBSCOhost Business Source Complete the following Fields are also available:
Journal databases use a controlled vocabulary when indexing article records to enable information to be grouped by topic. By controlling the vocabulary, the database ensures that synonyms and similar phrases are collected under one accepted term. You can search using a database's vocabulary. When you are in a database there will usually be a hyperlink near the search boxes called thesaurus, subjects, or subject headings.
In some databases, you can use a proximity operator to specify that your search terms must be close to – that is, within a certain number of words of – each other. This is narrower than a keyword-search, and broader than a phrase-search, so is a compromise between those two different methods of searching.
The proximity operator is usually a letter or word, followed by a number. You can specify the number, and it will determine the number of words between your two search terms. The higher the number, the more results you will get, and the less relevant they might be.
where n is the number you nominate.
See Database Help: Proximity searching for more information.
Most databases also allow you to limit your search or refine your results set by facets. The options will depend on the database you are searching.
Common facets include:
In many cases, you can also limit a search to scholarly or peer reviewed articles.
Make use of the material or publication type options across databases as this will allow you to refine your results to see particular resources types including:
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.
