Library Guides: Industrial Relations: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

The Routledge companion to employment relations by Colvin, A. et al.
Publication Date: 2018
Fair Work legislation 2019-2020 by Rinaldi, M., et al.
Publication Date: 2019

Quick links

Ebook collections

ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

EBSCOhost (Business) This link opens in a new window
A package of five EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Business-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes the important business database, Business Source Complete.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* Business Source Complete;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
ProQuest Business Databases This link opens in a new window
A package of ProQuest databases all with business-, economics-, and management-related material. These databases can also be searched individually or in any combination.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 10 databases with business-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. Some of these databases are the business subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

All but one of these resources contain full-text material. But as with all ProQuest databases, where a record does not have the full-text available, you can use the Find a copy links to search for the full item elsewhere.

The specific databases are:
* ABI/Inform Collection itself a package of 3 databases
* Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
* Asian & European Collection
* Business Market Research Collection
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Business
* Career & Technical Education Database: Business
* COS Conference Papers Index does not include full-text material
* Ebook Central results from this collection will appear in a separate tab
* India Database: Business
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
* Research Library: Business.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the Change databases tab in the top menu. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A database of journals covering international management research, and eBooks covering business, management, economics, and social sciences.
All content is published by Emerald Publishing.

Specific business and management topics include: accounting; human resource management; industrial and organisational psychology leadership; library and information science; and marketing.There is also coverage of engineering, applied science, and technology.

The social sciences eBooks cover a range of sociology, education, politics, and psychology topics.

If you go to the Browse tab, you can browse the books and journals, with filters for journal or book title, subject, and publication type.

If you go to Advanced Search, you can filter your search by type of content, date, and, importantly, access type. The access type filter has options for:
• All content
• Only open access
• Only content I have access to.

Charles Sturt has full-text access to all of the journal content and some of the eBook content. Case studies are not included in our subscription. Items available in full-text are marked with a green tick.
Australian Public Affairs (APAFT) This link opens in a new window
An Informit Australian database of citations and article summaries from more than 560 journals, with most also available in full-text. It covers current affairs, economics, health, humanities, law, literature, politics, and social sciences. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with APAFT selected. See more ... below.
Key titles include:
* Australian Aboriginal Studies;
* Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health;
* Australian Health Review;
* Australian Historical Studies;
* Australian Journal of Communication
* Australian Journal of Social Issues;
* Griffith Review
* Journal of Australian Political Economy and Oceania;
* Journal of Industrial Relations;
* Keeping Good Companies;
* Metro;
* Quadrant.

Index records are from 1978 to present, with full-text material available from 1994 to present.

Your searching from this link will be within APAFT only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in APAFT. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
CCH iKnowConnect This link opens in a new window
Online access to cases, legislation, commentary, articles & news, and practical tools across a range of legal practice areas, as well as Tax Monitor and a series of Master Guides for family law, tax and financial planning.
Topic coverage includes: family law, property law, company law, torts, tax, accounting, human resources & industrial relations, occupational health & safety, financial planning, business management, superannuation and more.
This database is an upgrade to the previous CCH IntelliConnect. The new platform has a fresh look and feel, making it easier to discover related content, news, commentary, and practice tools.
All IntelliConnect content will still be available but may be found under a different title or practice area.
We recommend using the Advanced Search and filter options to narrow your search results. Or browse content using the Practice Area drop-downs in the left-hand side menu.

See all Business, Management, Marketing and WHS databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Standards, best practice and legal resources

Fair Work Commission | Legislation and regulations
The Fair Work Commission is Australia’s national workplace relations tribunal. The main responsibility of the commission is to set and maintain wage and employment regulations
Fair Work Ombudsman | National Employment Standards
The National Employment Standards (NES) are 11 minimum employment entitlements that have to be provided to all employees.
Fair Work Ombudsman | Best practice guides
Fair work Ombudsman give information and advice about workplace rights and obligations. The guides are aimed at helping businesses and employees with work issues.

CCH iKnowConnect This link opens in a new window
Online access to cases, legislation, commentary, articles & news, and practical tools across a range of legal practice areas, as well as Tax Monitor and a series of Master Guides for family law, tax and financial planning.
Topic coverage includes: family law, property law, company law, torts, tax, accounting, human resources & industrial relations, occupational health & safety, financial planning, business management, superannuation and more.
This database is an upgrade to the previous CCH IntelliConnect. The new platform has a fresh look and feel, making it easier to discover related content, news, commentary, and practice tools.
All IntelliConnect content will still be available but may be found under a different title or practice area.
We recommend using the Advanced Search and filter options to narrow your search results. Or browse content using the Practice Area drop-downs in the left-hand side menu.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ contains full-text access to Australian primary and secondary legal source materials including Australian cases, legislation, journal articles, dictionaries and encyclopedias, and commentaries.
Key titles include Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, CaseBase case citator, LawNow legislation citator and the Australian Law Reports (ALRs).
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
A database of Australian publications and research tools from Thomson Reuters, covering Australian law and legislation.
Westlaw AU (previously known as Legal Online, and, before that, Lawbook Online) provides resources in a new interface which is different from the previous Legal Online interface. Most of the content is available in full-text.

The Westlaw AU interface makes subscribed content available for searching or browsing. For Charles Sturt users, content is available in three Content Types: Cases, Legislation & Commentaries, and Journals. You can do a Basic Search across all content, or you can choose to search across specific material. If you choose to search across one of the three Content Types, you get a content-specific Advanced Search option.

On the Home page, you can choose to browse by Content Type, Practice Area, Product Title, or Jurisdiction. In addition to that, if you choose one of the three Content Types you can then browse that content by Product Title, Practice Area, or Jurisdiction.

Search and Browse are integrated, so if and when you browse into specific content your searching is also automatically restricted to that content.

Websites

Australian Human Rights Commission
The commission aims to promote and protect human rights in Australia by resolving complaints of discrimination or breaches of human rights under federal laws.
Fair Work Commission
The Fair Work Commission is Australia's national workplace relations tribunal. It is an independent body with power to carry out a range of functions including enterprise bargaining, minimum wages, unfair dismissal, workplace disputes and other workplace determinations.
Fair Work Ombudsman
Provides information and advice about workplace rights and obligations. The Fair Work Ombudsman is an independent statutory office that provides free employee relations advice to all workers and employers in Australia.
NSW Industrial Relations Commission
The NSW Industrial Relations Commission is the court which hears matters relating to the workplace. The role of the Commission is to regulate workplace affairs in NSW. The Commission conciliates and arbitrates to resolve industrial disputes, sets conditions of employment and fixes wages and salaries by making industrial awards, approves enterprise agreements and decides claims of unfair dismissal.
International Labour Organisation
The ILO is a U.N. agency that brings together governments, employers and workers representatives of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
Labour law down under
Examines topical issues relating to work and the law in Australia, from the perspective of an academic labour lawyer: Professor Anthony Forsyth of RMIT University.

Professional organisations

Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI)
The national association in Australia representing human resource professionals. Provides resources to employers as well as publications and research resources.
The Industrial Relations Society of NSW (IRSNSW)
An independent, nonpartisan organisation which encourages research, discussion and debate on a wide range of issues affecting employment relations.
The Association of Industrial Relations Academics in Australia and New Zealand (AIRAANZ)
Promote and encourage Australasian industrial relations research and ongoing publication of the association’s journal Labour & Industry: A Journal of the Social and Economic Relations of Work.