Skip to Main Content

Database Help: Getting Full-Text

Getting Full-Text From Within a Database

Databases with journals and articles vary in how much full-text material they contain:

  • Some databases are entirely full-text
  • Others have no full-text content (see below)
  • Many have a combination of records which are "citation-only" (no full-text), and records that have full-text. Sometimes it's not easy to tell what is full-text and what is not. Sometimes you can click on a link to the full-text, only to find that payment is required to get the full article. (See If the full article is not available.)

If an item in a database has full-text available, there should be a link somewhere close to the record. The full item might be available as a PDF, in HTML, or via a link to the publisher's website:

 

Using Find It links to get the full article

In many databases, if the record does not have the full-text attached, you can click on the Find it  link to search for the full article via Primo Search:

Links to Find it are usually just below the brief record in a results list

 

This link will take you to the Primo Search record for the item. If it's available in full-text, there will be a link to the database where it's held.

You can follow the prompts to go to the article record in the new database, and there should be a link to the full-text:

Links to full text versions of the article will often be just near the title, or under the record information

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.