It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An online version of the well-known Encyclopaedia Brittanica for school and university students and staff.
This resource has a number of features and resources for educational institutions, including:
* more than 100,000 articles and supplemental Britannica Year in Review articles
* a multimedia collection of images, videos, audio, "interactives", and infographics
* dictionary definitions from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
* periodical content provided by EBSCOhost
* primary-source material from multiple sources.
You can use basic or advanced search, or browse by articles, videos, biographies, popular topics, or featured primary sources.
If you set up a personal account you can save items, order favourites, and add notes.
Journals and eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core describes itself as "the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press" It includes both journal articles and eBooks covering a wide range of subjects.
You can browse subjects or search all journal & book content. You can't specify the content type until you have your search results: you can then apply filters for articles or book-chapters.
There is some material in the collection that Charles Sturt does not subscribe to. To limit your searching to full-text articles and book chapters, select Only search content I have access to beneath the search box, or use the filter at your results list. Items in full-text are marked with a green tick Access icon.
A collection of eBooks in the EBSCOhost platform, covering a huge range of subject areas.
Access and usage conditions vary for books within this collection. But if you wish to download a book for offline use, you will need to have an EBSCOhost personal sign-in, and you will need to have the software Adobe Digital Editions loaded to your computer.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.
It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.
Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.
The database is updated daily.
Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.
Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An authoritative database about Australian literature and storytelling, with biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions, and online content.
AustLit is a not-for-profit collaboration between the National Library of Australia and 12 Australian universities, led by the University of Queensland, which indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources.
While most AustLit records provide only citations and library holdings information for published works, there is a range of selected critical and creative works available in full-text. (As at June 2008, there were 12,153 items available in full-text, including poems, short stories, novels, criticisms, and reviews.)
An EBSCOhost database on communication and mass media, with indexing and abstracting for more than 770 journals, and including the full-text of more than 450 journals and numerous books.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals in communication and mass media. It contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus
Subjects covered include communication; cultural studies; education; international relations; language and linguistics; mass media; media; politics; and public relations.
Coverage varies with title but extends back to 1915.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A package of ProQuest databases all with arts-related material. Includes ProQuest's Arts & Humanities Database, and Performing Arts Periodicals Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuest's subject area package of 8 databases with arts-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. The list of databases below gives an indication of subject coverage. Some of these databases are the arts subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.
The specific databases are:
* Arts & Humanities Database
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: The Arts
* Career & Technical Education Database: The Arts
* India Database: The Arts
* Performing Arts Periodicals Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
* Religion Database
* Research Library: The Arts.
Once in the ProQuest interface, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail at the top left of the ProQuest screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.
Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.
Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.
The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
The Australian Writers’ Guild is the peak industry body representing writers for stage, screen and radio and has protected and promoted their creative and professional interests for more than 50 years.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.