It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australian Informit database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text, covering all aspects of law. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with AGIS Plus Text selected. See more ... below
The full title of AGIS Plus Text is Attorney General's Information Service Plus Text. It includes over 140 peer-reviewed law journals from Australia, New Zealand, and the Asia Pacific region, plus selected articles from major law journals from the UK, the US, and Canada.
Specific topics covered include administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices.
Your searching from this link will be within AGIS Plus Text only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in AGIS Plus Text. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.
You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.
An Australian online legal service which includes full-text access to numerous primary- and secondary-source materials. Covers legislation, case law, and specialised areas of law.
Content includes case law, legislation, analytical materials, and forms and precedents, while sources include journals, law reports, unreported judgements, bulletins and newsletters, dictionaries and encyclopaedias, LawNow Legislation, and CaseBase Cases (see also below).
When you first access Lexis Advance Pacific, you are presented with a screen with a couple of choices to make. You need to accept the conditions, and you need to choose the area of the product that you want to set as your Home page. The default is Pacific Research, and this is the product to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes.
You won't see that screen again. For subsequent logins, just use your Charles Sturt userid and password and you will be taken straight to the Lexis Advance Pacific home page.
You can search across Everything or narrow your search by Jurisdiction, Content Type, Legal Topics or Recent & Favourites. If you go to Advanced Search, you can search in Cases, Legislation, Analytical Materials, or Forms & Precedents. The Home screen also has a list of the publications to which Charles Sturt subscribes, and for each publication you can: view contents; add as a search filter; go to Advanced Search; view publication information; or save to Favourites.
You can view your search and document history, and set up favourites, folders, and alerts.
Lexis Advance Pacific includes CaseBase Cases, a citator and annotator that covers more than 100 report series, journals, and unreported decisions from major Australian and New Zealand courts and selected tribunals.
A database of Australian publications and research tools from Thomson Reuters, covering Australian law and legislation.
Westlaw AU (previously known as Legal Online, and, before that, Lawbook Online) provides resources in a new interface which is different from the previous Legal Online interface. Most of the content is available in full-text.
The Westlaw AU interface makes subscribed content available for searching or browsing. For Charles Sturt users, content is available in three Content Types: Cases, Legislation & Commentaries, and Journals. You can do a Basic Search across all content, or you can choose to search across specific material. If you choose to search across one of the three Content Types, you get a content-specific Advanced Search option.
On the Home page, you can choose to browse by Content Type, Practice Area, Product Title, or Jurisdiction. In addition to that, if you choose one of the three Content Types you can then browse that content by Product Title, Practice Area, or Jurisdiction.
Search and Browse are integrated, so if and when you browse into specific content your searching is also automatically restricted to that content.
A free Australian resource providing internet access to primary and secondary legal materials.
AustLII the Australasian Legal Information Institute - is a joint facility of the UTS and the UNSW Faculties of Law. It provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials, and claims to be one of the largest sources of legal materials on the Net, with millions of searchable documents.
AustLII publishes public legal information, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals, and case law); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (for example, law reform and royal commission reports). There is also a substantial collection of law journals.
It includes extensive links to other Australasian and international legal resources on the Internet.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest interface. It covers research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
This database was previously known as ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (CJPI).
This database indexes more than 250 periodicals, with more than 100 available in full-text. Sources include U.S. and international scholarly journals, corrections and correctional and law enforcement trade publications, and crime blogs, while content includes journal articles, reports, news, and statistics.
Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.
World Legal Information Institute. Free, independent source of information on worldwide law from over 200 countries, as well as international law.
Abbreviations of Journal Titles
You may find abbreviated journal titles in databases or in reading lists (such as ALJ for Australian Law Journal). To find the article from a citation you will need the full title, and also AGLC referencing requires you to give the full title of the journal when you cite it.
Try using one of these lists to find out the full titles of journals from the abbreviations:
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.