An annotated bibliography is a bibliography where references are given annotations or notes. There are generally four types of annotations -
Depending on your assignment you may be asked to reflect, summarise, critique, evaluate or analyse the source. You may be asked to find to search for a specific number of items to include in the annotated bibliography. These items are most commonly refereed or peer reviewed journal articles but can include book chapters, books, conference papers and other information sources. You may be asked to write an annotated bibliography as a stand alone assignment or as a component of a larger project.
You need to consider carefully the texts that you select for your annotated bibliography. Keep the following questions in mind to help clarify your choices.
What are the essential or key texts on my topic? Am I finding them? Are the sources valuable or often referred to in other texts?
Step 1.Create an EndNote group for your annotated bibliography references.
Step 2.Creating your Annotated list in a word document.
Step 3. You can insert your annotations below each reference to create your annotated Bibliography.
Bay, U. (2013). Transition town initiatives promoting transformational community change in tackling peak oil And climate change challenges. Australian Social Work, 66(2), 171-186. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2013.78120
This paper focuses on quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?
Beaumont, E., Chester, P., & Rideout, H. (2017). Navigating ethical challenges in social media: Social work student and practitioner perspectives. Australian Social Work, 70(2), 221-228. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2016.1274416
This gives and interesting perspective of ut enim ad minima veniam, quis nostrum exercitationem ullam corporis suscipit laboriosam, nisi ut aliquid ex ea commodi consequatur? Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?
Beddoe, L. (2010). Social work and power. Australian Social Work, 63(3), 361-362. https://doi.org/10.1080/0312407X.2010.500650
The author presents a case where quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?
The following texts are recommended reading for the annotated bibliography.
The Referencing at Charles Sturt University webpage has lots of helpful information about referencing including links to the following resources:
The main referencing style at Charles Sturt University is APA 7th though this is not the only style used at the University and you should check with your lecturer if you are unsure.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.