Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Studies: 3. Search the Library

Scholarly Resources

For your assessments you need to find scholarly resources which are academic or authoritative sources.

What is an academic or scholarly source?

  • It is Authoritative: it identifies the qualifications and expertise of the writer
  • It is well-cited: academic writing always credits the origins of information and ideas with a reference list
  • It is usually peer-reviewed or refereed: other academics have read and reviewed the work before publication.
  • It is objective: an academic source should aim to examine a topic fairly, not ignoring opposing opinions
  • It is written for academics: university lecturers, students, and professionals in the field.

The best place to find these resources are in Primo Search and the Library Databases.

COMMONLY USED SOURCES

There are many different types of resources which might offer information on the topic you are researching, but you need to consider whether the source is scholarly or authoritative enough for your assessment. The following pages will introduce you to three common search tools to help you find resources for your assignments.

Source type Use this resource to: Where to access this source:
Book/eBook
  • Get an overview, introduction, and/or background on a topic
  • Get in-depth information about a broad topic
  • Use Primo Search to find books and ebooks.
  • See the eBook page for more information about our ebook databases
Journal article
  • Get the best source of academic or scholarly information
  • Get highly relevant and subject specific information on your topic
  • Find citations and reference lists that will help you identify other important works on a subject.
Newspaper/Media
  • Investigate public attitudes to topics and issues
  • Get the latest information about new ideas or the business and finance landscape.

Australian database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions.

A searchable database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video.

A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand

Websites

Locate reports and documents from government, academic, or professional organisations
Find background or introductory information

Familiarise yourself with the topic
Reference material

Find factual and statistical information on a topic
Get an overview of a subject
Find definitions

Use subject specific resources to decipher the "jargon" of your topic

Sources of information

The information cycle

Library Word Meanings

Common Library Words is an explanation of a number of words and phrases you might come across when using the Library or the Library's resources.

Created by the University of Newcastle Library, it also includes translations of these words into Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese and Arabic.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.