The main content is the nearly 60,000 medical images. These are mainly radiology images, as the database had its foundations as a radiology study tool. Images are integrated with textual information.

The target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, and nursing students.

You can search using basic or advanced search. The latter offers a huge range of searching options, including patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, and contributing authors. You can browse by case or by topic.

The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) is produced jointly by 3 organisations the Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists (ASCEPT), the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP), and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA). It is a required resource for practising Australian pharmacists.

According to the AMH itself, its philosophy is to use the best available evidence to support prescribing and dispensing recommendations. It has two purposes: to provide readily accessible, concise, up-to-date, and independent drug information: and to provide an educational tool for practitioners and students.

AMH includes information on indications, precautions, dosage, adverse effects, and drug interactions, and covers new drugs, blood products, immunoglobulins, and specialised drugs.

There is a set of Guides which provide general guidance on prescribing, and specific advice about medication use in special populations such as pregnant women. There are also descriptions of general issues such as drug availability in Australia, use of drugs in sport, and the reporting of adverse effects.

The online Handbook is updated in January and July of each year.

Please note that Charles Sturt has unlimited user access for this resource.

Its stated aim is “to provide healthcare professionals with evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world”.

Martindale contains information on drugs in clinical use worldwide, as well as selected investigational and veterinary drugs, herbal and complementary medicines, pharmaceutical excipients, vitamins and nutritional agents, vaccines, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media and diagnostic agents, medicinal gases, drugs of abuse and recreational drugs, toxic substances, disinfectants, and pesticides.

The information on drugs and other substances is arranged into more than 7500 monographs that cover the nomenclature, properties, and actions, and include further references.

There are also preparations summaries of more than 200,000 proprietary products, and hundreds of disease treatment reviews which include an overview of the diseases and the drugs used in their treatment, and references.

Please note that Charles Sturt's subscription is to only three concurrent users.

MIMS Online is the web version of the MIMS prescribing information for pharmaceuticals available in Australia. It contains both abbreviated prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Bi-Monthly (a paper product), and full prescribing information, which is equivalent to the MIMS Annual (a paper product). It also contains product images, and consumer medicines information (MIMS CMI).

The database offers access to information on more than 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

MIMS Online has Simple and Advanced Search options, and also allows for browsing of the product information by Brand Name, Generic Name, or Therapeutic Class. There is also a Pill ID module, where you can search for a tablet/capsule image, and a Drug Interactions module, where you can identify drug interactions.

The database is updated several times a year.

These guidelines are produced by Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL), an Australian not-for-profit independent organisation that prepares, publishes and distributes nationally-based prescribing guidelines. The Guidelines are endorsed by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, the National Prescribing Service, the Royal College of Nursing Australia, The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, and other peak bodies.

The guidelines cover all common disorders seen in clinical practice and are a source of independent, evidence-based, practical treatment advice to assist practitioners with point-of-care decision making. According to TGL itself, the guidelines are "are regularly updated, based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australia’s most respected experts, with input from an extensive network of general practitioners, pharmacists and other users".

The Therapeutic Guidelines site also includes: a browsable drug index; information on antibiotic prescribing and on drug use in pregnancy and breastfeeding; patient-information sheets and other useful PDFs; calculators, and a list of tables, boxes, and figures.