Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MRS120 Research Skills Guide: Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Medical Sciences & Dentistry databases will be particularly useful for your study.

Activity

""EBSCOhost (Health) is a package of health-related databases. In EBSCOhost (Health) try searching for the keywords: reflect* AND portfolio AND (develop* OR learn*) entered as in the example below. AND is a boolean operator & the asterisk * is a truncation symbol used to expand search results, see the Search Strategies page for more information.

Alternatively, you could try searching for the key concepts you have identified from your assessment topic.

  • Being a collection of health databases, you should find these results relevant to your topic.
  • Try limiting by publication date to see the most recent material and/or choose a subject limiter to make your results more relevant.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article. If you cannot find a link to the full text of an article follow the                 Find it            link to find out if it is available in another journal database.

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

Further Assistance

If you'd like to learn more about searching in journal databases take a look at our Database Help Guide

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.