Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ELS503 Research Skills Guide: 3.4 Databases

2.4 Databases

Databases

 

CSU subscribes to many databases.

Researchers and professionals in education  studies will publish their research in academic and professional journals. CSU students have access to academic journals through the databases to which the library subscribes.

Some databases are compiled by professional organisations and libraries and are subject specific, others cover more than one discipline. Some databases are the product of a specific publisher and only contain the journals that they publish.

 

Choosing a database for ELS503

 

Which databases are suitable for your research in ELS503?

Education specific databases will give you results that are targeted to your ELS503 assignments.
 

 1. Go to the Journal Databases-Home page of the Library website.

 2. Click Education Studies under the Browse by Subject heading. Or choose from the alphabetical list of databases.

 3. Scroll down through the descriptions of the databases to see what sort of subjects they index.

 

Perhaps you noticed the following databases:

  • ERIC is a good starting point, and contains full text of some educational literature sponsored by the US Federal Department of Education. Choose the EBSCOhost version to enable links to other CSU database;
  • Education Research Complete indexes international education journals with full text of more than 1,200 journals;
  • A+ Education is an Australian database of citations, article summaries, and full-text articles.

As a guide, the following educational journals listed in your subject outline are indexed full text as follows:

  • Reading teacher: EBSCOhost Education Research Complete (from 1990); JSTOR (from 1951); Wiley Online library
  • Journal of adolescent & adult literacy: EBSCOhost Education Research Complete (from 1996); JSTOR (from 1995); Wiley Online Library
  • Reading Research Quarterly: Gale Cengage Expanded Academic ASAP (from 2008); JSTOR (from 1961)
  • Teaching and teacher education: Elsevier (from 1999)
  • Australian Educational Researcher: EBSCOhost Education Research Complete, A+ Education
  • Australian Journal of Education. EBSCOhost Education Research Complete; A+ Education

Of course, there are many other journals to choose from.

 

Learn how to search databases

 

Watch database videos created by the CSU library Information Services Team. While the search examples do not use education topics, the search techniques are the same. ‚Äč

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.